We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's chaos”

Maz Mezcal Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #4,209 of 13,681 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
312 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“It's chaos”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Once again, I'm getting tired of dining in places that are so loud you can't hear what's being said by people talking at your own table. The noise at this restaurant was deafening. The service was fast and without charm. The atmosphere makes you want to eat and run. The food is good, but it's really hard to enjoy it when you can't hear anything. Why do people scream so much in restaurants these days? This is not a place for a relaxing meal and I won't return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corsicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really good Mexican”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The food here was really wonderful, the place had good atmosphere, and the prices were decent. It is very nicely decorated for a Mexican restaurant, the staff was friendly and the service was good and quick. The menu is quite extensive with lots of variety and something for everyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gregtrzaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Maz Mezcal is the best Mexican Restaurant in the Upper East Side!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Maz Mezcal is the best Mexican Restaurant in the Upper East Side vicinity of New York City one can dine at. My girlfriend who lives in the Upper East Side restaurant suggested this restaurant and I’m proud of her for doing so.

That early evening of Thursday, March 21st, 2013 we walked a few blocks to this elegant eatery with its red cloth exterior and a beautiful light blue and pink interior. We were cordially greeted by the staff and escorted to a nice table located underneath the second of three well-detailed paintings of watermelons hanging on a scenic light blue wall. Since we arrived early in the evening at the restaurant on a Thursday, we were the only customers there. This restaurant gets very crowded on the weekends: Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

Our waiter was very helpful and very accommodating when he answered my questions and concerns about the combination plate I wished to order and far as spiciness level and if peppers were included. I ordered the following combination plate entree: three enchiladas: one with filled with chicken, one with fish and one with beef. This dish also came with a taco filled with ground beef, and side portions: yellow rice, peas, shredded lettuce and some refried beans with some cheese melted on top. Therefore, I ordered that scrumptious entree. My girlfriend had the two enchiladas entree with red sauce which also looked savory.

Suffice to say, I ate every portion on my orange plate until it was completely cleared off. Convenient enough to please your average dishwasher. I enjoyed every bite while tasting the red sauce covered enchiladas, beef-filled taco, beans with cheese and the additional portions available. My girlfriend loved her entree as well. Therefore, we were pleased with the culinary delights prepared and cooked by the chefs of Maz Mezcal.

This restaurant is an ideal establishment for couples to wine and dine in as far as the decor, service, and high-quality of the cuisines are concerned. The combination entree I ordered cost $23-$24 and the two enchilada entree cost $16-$17. However, that is to be expected when dining in the Upper East Side area of Manhattan and NYC in general. Ideal for those willing to rise to the occasion for a savory meal at an excellent Mexican Restaurant.

After the lovely dining my girlfriend and I experienced at Maz Mezcal, I would eat here again when we’re both in the mood for a Mexican entree fix. Gracias, staff at Maz Mezcal!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Muy Bueno!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Food, atmosphere, prices was great. We did have to wait because we didn't have a reservation, but it was PHENOMENAL mexican food. Plentiful portions, we all left feeling full the gills.

Highly recommended. Friendly staff, wonderful place. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomSueNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
229 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Little Mexico in the neighbourhood!!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Seems like a very popular neighbourhood joint in the Upper East Side - and now I know why! Went there for dinner one evening and came out stuffed as a pig and happy as a clam! The décor is colourful, service is very friendly, food is great (portions are huge) - perfect combination for a good evening. We ordered a chicken dish and a paella! Both were fantastic! The margarita looked small but was very potent and the recommendation of tequila was excellent too. The meal including drinks for 2 adults and a child costed us approx. USD 100, but no complaints whatsoever. This place seems to be very popular with families and the staff is attentive to the kids. That - and the great service and food is enough to make me go back there! If you happen to be in the neighbourhood or visiting the Museum Mile, Maz Mezcal is worth the short walk away...:)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jigiindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maz Mezcal Mexican Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Maz Mezcal Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing