We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Boulud

Cafe Boulud
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Boulud is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #132 of 13,554 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: 5th and Madison Avenues
Transit: #6 Train to 77th Street & Lexington Avenue M1, M2,M3 or M4 buses on Madison Avenue - 77th Street Stop
Description: CAFÉ BOULUD features a French-American menu inspired by Chef Daniel Boulud's four culinary muses: la tradition, classic French cuisine; la saison, seasonal delicacies; le potager, the vegetable garden; and le voyage, the flavors of world cuisines. In addition to dinner seven nights, we feature a $37 two-course prix-fixe lunch six days a week, and brunch on Sundays. The restaurant is both a neighborhood gem and a destination for food lovers in search of casually elegant dining. Two private dining rooms seating 18 guest each are available for your private entertaining needs, and may be combined to accommodate 40. The restaurant's adjacent BAR PLEIADES serves inventive cocktails and a luxurious bar menu from 3 pm onwards. DANIEL • DB Bistro Moderne •Boulud Sud• Bar Boulud • DBGB Kitchen & Bar
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having sort out this restauant because of Daniel Boulud's reputation, we were not disappointed. The service was very attentive if perhaps a little too deferential and we did feel hurried. The food though was well worth the trip and their wine list included the wonderful little known 'Chateau Musar' from Lebanon so we had a memorable evening. A great place to entertain good friends and/or business colleagues. I will be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HCMM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    217
    98
    43
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Upper East Side Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is at the very top of New York City Restaurants. It has everything. Great food which constantly evolves, attentive and caring service, and wonderful ambiance. Prices are high but by no means are they over the top. Food ranges from wonderful pasta dishes to great meat and fish dishes. Wine list is expensive but they do have a complete section for wines under $60. On our most recent visit we had the warm corn velouté and heirloom tomatoes as starters and then saffron risotto and zucchini tortellini as main courses. We shared a lemon tart for dessert. Our wine choice was a Chablis which complemented our dinner very nicely. This is a restaurant worth a visit and we recommend it highly

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davidlillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“I love Chef Daniel Boulud's restaurants! Don't miss when in NY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Cafe Boulud is in the mid-range of Daniel Boulud's continuously growing empire. He has Daniel which is at the top end and competes with the likes of Per Se, etc. Cafe Boulud is on the elegant side without the fussiness and pretensions of the upper tier places. We have eaten at Restaurant Daniel 3 times, and here one time previously. All have been fabulous! We go to France every other year, and coming here makes us feel as if we are back in France!

My husband and I had dinner here last Thursday night.The menu is organized into themes - traditional, seasonal, market and world. You can pick across all. Both of us really enjoyed our dinners.

I had the Beau Soleil Oysters, New Brunswick. They were very fresh and perfect and a great starter. My hubby had the Grilled Octopus, artichokes, marcona almonds, Meyer's lemon, skordalia. Yummy!

Our first courses were the Crispy duck breast, turnips, black eyed peas, arugula, natural jus for hubby. I got the Dry aged Beef Rossini, foie gras, fingerling potatoes, spinach puré, wild mushrooms, madeira jus.

Everything was excellent and we liked that we could talk without shouting but that we could also not feel like we had to whisper. We had an intimate booth, so it was very cozy.

All in all, I think it hits the right note.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
150 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Top cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Top fare, French cuisince as we love it (generous, touch of surprise, top quality ingredients, fresh, sparkling), amazing wine list, high value for money

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Superior food and service for a post Frick Collection lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

The lunch was part of a great New York visit for 3 generations (20's 50's 80's). The atmosphere, decor, service and food were superb. A quiet venue to enjoy a delicious, 3 course lunch with the wine suggestion of the day. It is well worth the price to have delicious food with a fabulous demonstration of white linen table service. A perfect spot to spoil yourself after a museum visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Micjanmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Boulud also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Boulud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing