We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated”
Review of Cafe Boulud

Cafe Boulud
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Boulud is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #135 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: 5th and Madison Avenues
Transit: #6 Train to 77th Street & Lexington Avenue M1, M2,M3 or M4 buses on Madison Avenue - 77th Street Stop
Description: CAFÉ BOULUD features a French-American menu inspired by Chef Daniel Boulud's four culinary muses: la tradition, classic French cuisine; la saison, seasonal delicacies; le potager, the vegetable garden; and le voyage, the flavors of world cuisines. In addition to dinner seven nights, we feature a $37 two-course prix-fixe lunch six days a week, and brunch on Sundays. The restaurant is both a neighborhood gem and a destination for food lovers in search of casually elegant dining. Two private dining rooms seating 18 guest each are available for your private entertaining needs, and may be combined to accommodate 40. The restaurant's adjacent BAR PLEIADES serves inventive cocktails and a luxurious bar menu from 3 pm onwards. DANIEL • DB Bistro Moderne •Boulud Sud• Bar Boulud • DBGB Kitchen & Bar
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sophisticated”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very good food with gusto.Good service atmosphere with characted.Good price performance ratio.
One of the best places at upper east NY

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 977Restaurantexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    221
    99
    43
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Perfect Combination”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Always attentive and friendly service, top notch food with the right amount of decor/ambiance was the perfect combination for a great Sunday brunch. The prix fixe menu was a good savings and still had excellent choices. The cucumber gazpacho was fresh, flavorful and creamy. The homemade pastas tasted like homemade, yum. The bloody mary's were tasty and had the right amount of spice. Everything was delicious, and the warm madelines for dessert were addictive. Great way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AOV88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding Gem”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We happened upon the outdoor cafe after leaving the nearby Whitney Museum. We wanted a quick lunch and were seated immediately. When we saw the prices, we almost left, but decided we deserved a "splurge," and I'm glad we stayed. The food was exceptional, from the bread to the entrees to the complimentary madelines. I could've eaten an entire basket of those delectable morsels. Later, I looked up the cafe and discovered it's a "sister" restaurant to NYC's famous Daniel restaurant. Superb place, and the staff was attentive too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VAPrgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Service,food, ambience superb! Credit toward dinner included in our package. Our best meal in New York! Loved the orange zest Madeline's served hot for dessert.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ltldawgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

After an amazing meal at the Montreal Boulud, we thought we would try cafe Boulud in NYC and were not disappointed at all. We went for lunch and had the price fixe menu which was excellent value and really great food. My girlfriend had the trout and I had the lamb, both of which were excellent. We paid significantly more in other restaurants in the city for meals which were no where near as exceptional. Very attentive service, lovely wine and best dessert ever.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Puff328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Boulud also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Boulud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing