We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food & service”
Review of Cafe Boulud

Cafe Boulud
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Boulud is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #147 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: 5th and Madison Avenues
Transit: #6 Train to 77th Street & Lexington Avenue M1, M2,M3 or M4 buses on Madison Avenue - 77th Street Stop
Description: CAFÉ BOULUD features a French-American menu inspired by Chef Daniel Boulud's four culinary muses: la tradition, classic French cuisine; la saison, seasonal delicacies; le potager, the vegetable garden; and le voyage, the flavors of world cuisines. In addition to dinner seven nights, we feature a $37 two-course prix-fixe lunch six days a week, and brunch on Sundays. The restaurant is both a neighborhood gem and a destination for food lovers in search of casually elegant dining. Two private dining rooms seating 18 guest each are available for your private entertaining needs, and may be combined to accommodate 40. The restaurant's adjacent BAR PLEIADES serves inventive cocktails and a luxurious bar menu from 3 pm onwards. DANIEL • DB Bistro Moderne •Boulud Sud• Bar Boulud • DBGB Kitchen & Bar
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a small French restaurant which is always very busy.

We managed to get to sit at the bar to have lunch as we rushed in from the heavy rain.

The food is superb, as are the waiting staff. We were disappointed with the quality of food in general in NY, but this place definitely stands out.

They also have a dessert place right next door, but we decided not to try it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mudassar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    225
    100
    44
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Bit of a disappointment”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went the first time during restaurant week and cut them some slack (though why should the food necessarily suffer during a promotion?). The second time was equally mid-tier, so I think we will look to other places at these prices. I had the lamb shank which was just a lump of dry overcooked strands of meat slathered in a lot of sauce. I can do better with my pressure cooker. The swordfish prepared jerk style had a lot going on--jalapeno, cashews, etc--but there was no "wow" factor. The room is pleasant enough and the staff is very adroit. I just seems that we spent an awful amount of money for something that is a little too much by the numbers. The wine mark-up is not as bad as some, thank goodness, and we ended up drinking with more pleasure than eating. Kind of sad really, since we always treasured our experiences, including wedding dinner, at Daniel. Maybe too much empire building?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Schipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Great Upper East Side location. Avant garde menu. Nice atmosphere.”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Definitely one of NYC's finest. Well deserved reputation. The menu is diverse and extremely creative. The specials periodically focus on a different region and today's was the Caribbean. Besides this the regular menu has a traditional section, a modern French and a world cuisine, so there is something for everyone.
The foie gras terrine, the cold stergeon, the pea soup with pancetta and the black bean soup with shrimp were the starters. The entrecote and the guinea hen wrapped in bacon for the mains. The chocolate mousse with rum ice-cream and the chocolate molten cake with vanilla ice-cream for dessert.
Food is well prepared with bursts of cascading flavors and is presented exceedingly well. Portions, as befitting a French restaurant, are small. Wine list is exaustive. Prices average around $150 per person with wine and tip.
Bookings are a must - preferably three to four days in advance.
Clientile is upscale so this is your chance to dress up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jairaj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was there with a friend and it was very disappointing experience for both of us. Boulud being "Promoted" as one of the better high class 4* restaurant and Chef Boulud which was the Chef for "Le Cirque 2000" left and opened his Own Boulud restaurant. I also ate many times at "Le Cirque 2000 and by all means If You Are About To Burn Over $300 Per Person, At Least Go To A Place That You'll Enjoy It!
No Place To Compare, The Service, & Location. In my humble opinion & Experience as Journalist who visited (and still) many of NYC & the World High-End Places!

Helpful?
7 Thank worldpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Mixed Views”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Food was good but for a Michelin starred place nothing special. Tables were very close together so we heard the next table complaining about the rhubarb desert!!! Impeccable service. Not really a romantic setting. Expensive. The cheese plate was excellent. They make a big thing about only holding reservations for 15 minutes so we arrived on time only to have to wait 25 minutes for our table - somewhat annoying!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank binnsini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Boulud also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Boulud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing