We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
New York City
Post
Inbox
Search

“The worst pomodoro sauce ever”

Scalinatella Restaurant
Ranked #2,088 of 16,892 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lenox Hill
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although the hostess tell us that we have a table in 30 minutes, we wait more than one hour.
I ask for a gnocchi with pomodoro sauce, a special of the day, and have the worst sauce ever.
Extremaly salty, cold and the gnocchi was heavy.
After just 3 bites I leave my plate and nobody asked why.
Poor service and worst food

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank fjamendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good Italian food in a cosy restaurant, good and friendly service but price a bit expensive. Nevertheless a place to revisit.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank JFCGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2019

We have been to Scalinatella twice and both times...it has been an over the top experience...I truly can not say enough...We will be back...until then...Keep Doing What YOU Are Doing!!!!
PS...If you go...ask for Johnnie to be your server...We Love Him!!!

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2019 via mobile

Expanding on my review a year ago, this Italian Restaurant is one of my favorites in NYC, but most of the time is Very Crowded, so never forget to reserve. The pasta is delicious and also the veal.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank PMLama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2019

Scalinatella is our friend Tony's FAVORITE restaurant in New York City! If what you want isn't on the menu, ask for it and they will make it happen! It's definitely a wonderful spot for an old-school Italian experience. The downstairs "grotto" experience is very intimate and the service and the food are outstanding. A definite New York City experience!

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C9168CGlindam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scalinatella Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Scalinatella Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing