We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and average Italien food in a noisy room”

Scalinatella Restaurant
Ranked #2,099 of 16,638 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lenox Hill
Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

The restaurant lies in the basement and looks cosy when you enter. The waiters are quick to try and sell all their specials which arent on the menu, and get a bit annoyed when this is declined. The food was average for an italian restaurant, nothing special which can justify the harsh prices.
On a plus side, they're able to create gluten free versions of some of their dishes.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank 319nikolajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 252 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

I went to Scalinatella looking for a great Pasta Bolognese and was not disappointed. To be clear, this is a very traditional menu restaurant. Tons of pastas, veal Milanese, branzino etc. if that's what you want, this place will not disappoint. They also had a special starter for the night of stuffed zucchini blossoms which was fantastic.

Their portions are very large so be careful with the order. One portion here is close to two portions elsewhere.

The restaurant is small and very lively. In general, I very much enjoyed it.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank BKF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

This is always a fun and energetic restaurant. The server was spectacular (Diego). Service was perfect and the food was even better. The fish (Dover sole) and salads and pasta- all great
Diego suggested a wonderful white wine (superb)
You never know who you will spot at this venue- last night it was jimmy Fallon

Nyc- upper east side at its best

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank BradleyS993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2016

Met some friends at this restaurant with an 8 PM reservation. Took 50 minutes to get our table in spite of the reservation with really no where to stand and wait. Once seated, it took the waiter 30 minutes after delivering our menus to come back to take our order and that was only after we stopped him in the aisle. After ordering (we did not order appetizers because it now was so late), it took another 50 minutes to get our food. Once our table was cleared, it was another 30 minutes to be asked for dessert or coffee. After one espresso which did come right away, we had to flagged down the waiter again to get our check after waiting another 25 minutes.
Food was good, not great. Veal chop that was order medium rare came well done and it was returned. It was replaced with a rare (cold in the middle) chop that was good but not great.
For these prices ($52 for the chop, pastas in the $25 range), will skip this place in the future.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

The minute you walk downstairs, you realize you are in a very special place. The waiters are knowledgeable and don't hesitate to help in any way they can. The food is truly delicious. There were eight of us and everyone was extremely satisfied. We will definitely be back the next time we are in town.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank lisabG119RZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scalinatella Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Scalinatella Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing