We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely sushi!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushi of Gari

Sushi of Gari
Reserve with OpenTable
Sushi of Gari is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,970 of 13,478 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: B/W 1st Ave. & York Ave.
Transit: Subway #6 train @ 77th Street
Description: Welcome to Sushi of Gari! This restaurant is the original restaurant specializing in the wonderful taste of Gari Signature Sushi by Masatoshi GARI Sugio. This restaurant is rather a small establishment, but we offer an amazing Sushi as well as many traditional Japanese dishes. In addition to many very fresh authentic Japanese Sushi, let us surprise you by Gari's originality: some area slightly cooked, or marinated, and served with a variety of home-made sauces or other delicacies which enhance the daily market�fs freshest seafood, many of which are from Japan especially for Sushi of Gari.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely sushi!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We went to gari's by recommendation of our good friend who lived closed by. Even on a monday evening it was busy. Nice place to check out local new yorkers out with friend or in a business meeting. The sushi is lovely and hard to find on manhattan. So if you are up for fresh fish, just go to gari's.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee77188616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    59
    27
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
263 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“a nice shushi bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

this shushi bar offer normal shushi and shashimi menu as well as a chef menu.the chef menu is interesting but one can not say its original .i would dare and say the its inspired by messa of newyork but to a very limited extend. the food is good fresh the prices are normal for this type of restaurants.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yosef L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
146 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Just the best!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We went to this restaurant before few days ......when i saw the place i didnt know what to expect,but when the sushi start arriving in the table i was happily surprised,it was simply delicious.Gari is my no1 choice for sushi and i cannot wait to go back again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tekilaAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
229 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Fantastic sushi!! One of the finest in NYC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Went to Sushi of Gari to celebrate my son's birthday, who is a big sushi lover. It's a really small place and we were given this cozy table in the corner, just intimate enough for a great family meal! The decor is simple, nothing much to write about. The service was as expected at a Japanese joint ;) We did not opt for the omakase menu as a 10 year old can be quite picky and not as adventurous as an adult. We would have ordered plenty, and I mean plenty of rolls, sashimi from their menu and also their deluxe sushi platter. Each one was better than the previous! There was pure ecstasy with each piece :))) I don't eat fish, so was left with a sea-weed salad...and I don't even like Japanese cuisine but this was better than expected and better than what I have eaten before. Having just moved from Mumbai to this city, the benchmark that we held was that of Wasabi by Morimoto (at the Taj Palace) and both my son and hubby endorse that the sushi was as good, if not better than that! And that speaks a lot...:) We paid approximately USD 110 for a meal for 2 people (including a bottle of sake), counting me out, as a salad does not really count me in, and this was a great value meal - eapecially considering that we paid USD 300 for a similar meal at the Wasabi at the Taj Palace, Mumbai last year on exactly the same day...Kudos to Sushi of Gari!! Keep it coming on...because we are definitely coming back for more!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jigiindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very good sushi but too expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We took the chef's menu (choice of shushi and shashimi). Outstanding quality but very very expensive: we paid above 350 dollars and this for an dinner for two. The wine list is a little bit rediculous: some great french wines but without mentioning the chateau or domaine which is bizar. And althoug I love french sancerre wines (we live in europe near the french border) I never heard of a "chateau de sancerre"....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BelgiumLudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi of Gari also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sushi of Gari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing