We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great satisfying dinner for a vegetarian & non-vegetarian”
Review of Candle Cafe

Candle Cafe
Ranked #1,071 of 13,678 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great satisfying dinner for a vegetarian & non-vegetarian”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We found this restaurant in a guidebook, and had a terrific meal. As a non-vegetarian, sometimes I find vegetarian or vegan restaurants unsatisfying, but this menu was diverse and the dishes we had were full of flavor, texture and variety.

We had to get out fairly quickly to get to a theater performance, and I was impressed that the service was very prompt, and everything came when we would want it: we never felt rushed, and we never felt that we were hanging around waiting.

If I lived in NYC, I feel certain that this would become a "go-to" restaurant for me. I had an elaborate sandwich, and my husband had a seitan based cutlet with gravy, vegetables and some kind of starch underneath. He was thrilled, as so few restaurants make that kind of tasty
comfort food (it was a cold winter weekend) for vegetarians.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gettin_there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    94
    32
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
390 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“Delicious - just as good as Candle 79!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This food was really excellent. We went for lunch and got a tuscan seitan sandwich and a cajun seitan sandwich.

What they can do here is pretty amazing and very inventive.

Good spot. Nice atmosphere (tight squeeze of a space - but this is NYC). We'd definitely go back.

Just as good as Candle 79 nearby. No complaints. Friendly attentive service.

As we left there was a line out the door - no wonder it's a popular local eatery!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VTJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great for lunch”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Love this little cafe. Earthy and low key. Menu is creative and healthy. I always find new veg friendly things to do and places to go when waiting for a table and skimming the mags and fliers they have out. Quick and yummy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I have eaten here 3 times and continue to be disappointed in the bland overpriced food. Twice for dinner, where I paid $19 for seitan that costs $3.00 a box in Whole Foods. And the funny thing is I like how I prepare it at home better than the breaded super rubbery version Candle serves. How can wheat gluten possibly cost the same as wild salmon does in a comparable restaurant??

The most recent visit was for brunch. I was anxious to try it for brunch because I am tired of always getting the rather unhealthy pancake or waffle option at regular restaurants. I got the nuevos rancheros (not sure if that's the exact name) - a mexican take on tempeh with potatoes, guac, vegan sour cream, the works. It was okay, not great. It reminded me a lot of an Amy's frozen dinner I like with similar ingredients - and tasted very similar too. If the meal had cost closer to what the Amy's frozen dinner costs I'd have been quite happy - problem is it was $20 including tax. As a pesce-tarian, I'm all for veggie and vegan restaurants and I try to avoid dairy whenever possible, but come on people - $20 for wheat gluten or tempeh is just robbery. For those prices it needs to be astronomically delicious, not remind me of my fave frozen dinner. The atmosphere is a bit tired too, reminds me of a Marriot. Downstairs is particularly drab.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trav226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fortunate find..”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Close to Lenox Hill Hospital and an easy walk from the Metropolitan Museum , Candle Cafe's a vegan moderate price eatery. My local friends confirmed that it would have been their recommendation for me had I asked. Nice sized portions, well spiced & attractively presented even satisfied my carnivorous 23 yr old nephew. (all the PYT's doubtless helped). The inventive, tasty dishes can be complemented by a more than adequate selection of craft beers or organic wines.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snowii1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candle Cafe also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Candle Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing