We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Upscale Coffee Shop”
Review of Cafe Viand

Cafe Viand
Ranked #459 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Nice Upscale Coffee Shop”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was staying at the Milburn hotel near 76th & Broadway and prefer a full breakfast to start the day when I'm on vacation. I tried 3 places in the neighborhood and the Viand Cafe was my favorite by far. It has the feel of an upscale coffee shop and is tastefully decorated. The food was good, the prices reasonable (especially on weekdays when I could get a full breakfast WITH coffee for less than $10) and the service was fast, efficient and almost friendly by New York standards.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrldctguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    270
    116
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Storrs, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good diner”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Really enjoyed breakfast here. Just had a basic meal - scrambled eggs (cooked well), sausage, potatoes (really liked these), and multigrain toast. All around a really solid option.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Myron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful neighborhood diner”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Ten of us had a great meal: everything from salads, wraps, Rueben sandwiches. My niece had the chicken pot-pie, which could have fed 2 adults. It was huge!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank grandturkwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Upper West side value diner”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was our go to breakfast spot while staying at the Beacon... The breakfasts were really good. We were seated and served promptly every time. Food was good. Restaurant clean and coffee hot. The staff are lovely and taking into account how busy this little diner is they all do very well. It is fantastic value, you might get better food quality elsewhere but you will pay 3 times more for it.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janice c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent opening hours, convenient and reasonably priced”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

They were open on Christmas Day and the staff were very good, attentive and listened to what we wanted. We stayed at The Beacon for 6 nights and this Cafe was our regular breakfast spot. They do need to learn to relate to the customers the staff are a little jaded, it I spoke Italian it would have been interesting I am sure. The patriarch made the best lattes but when he was not working it was hit and miss. Food was fresh, well cooked and plenty of it. If you are staying at the beacon pay it a visit and make your own mind up, I enjoyed it my husband on,yngave it a three star rating. Giggling.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank african_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Viand also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Viand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing