We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breath of Vienna”
Review of Cafe Sabarsky

Cafe Sabarsky
Ranked #40 of 432 Dessert in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Austrian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Morristown,NJ
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A breath of Vienna”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

OK, yes, you have to wait in line and it is a bit pricey - but if you have lived in Vienna like I have, it is worth it. The food is amazingly good and for the busyness of the place, service is even better.This was my first visit, but I am already thinking about when I can go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bropaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    192
    59
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, OR
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very good food, sensational setting.”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The traditional Viennese specialties will here be found, and very tastily. The period room and appointments make this a great way to top off a wonderful couple of hours touring the exceptional Neue Gallerie.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CariocaBonito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love it!..”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

My family and I visited cafe Sabarsky for lunch today!..It was great!..Perfectly located on Fifth ave on Museum Mile this European cafe made our day!..My 5 years old daughter sad to me"Mom!..We are in Paris,are not we?!"Food was excellent and service was good too!..I finally find place in Manhattan were you can have delirious apple strudel!..

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IngaVlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Unique, good food”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

There was a long line for a table at 2:30pm when I arrived. The wait wasn't too long, but the hallway and dining room are both very stuffy.
I ordered the potato dumpling and hot spiced wine, both of which I've never had before and I was not disappointed. Very pricey for the amount of food I received. The staff was attentive, but not overly friendly.
Worth a try one time if you are in the area, but I likely will not return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
743 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 586 helpful votes
“Great, but pricey with long queues”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We waited for around 15 minutes for a table at 2pm, which I was surprised at given it was well past lunchtime. Still, the place is pretty enough and the German/Austrian menu looked like a decent choice. We lived in Munich for a long time, so we were expecting to be critical. The bratwurst were good, but not great though the sauerkraut with it was very good, assuming you like your caraway. Each of the cakes were good and service was excellent throughout. The check at the end did seem pretty steep as we'd shared the sausage.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank masaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sabarsky also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Sabarsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing