We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but pricey with long queues”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Sabarsky

Cafe Sabarsky
Ranked #41 of 441 Dessert in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: German, Austrian, Cafe, Central European, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
721 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 564 helpful votes
“Great, but pricey with long queues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We waited for around 15 minutes for a table at 2pm, which I was surprised at given it was well past lunchtime. Still, the place is pretty enough and the German/Austrian menu looked like a decent choice. We lived in Munich for a long time, so we were expecting to be critical. The bratwurst were good, but not great though the sauerkraut with it was very good, assuming you like your caraway. Each of the cakes were good and service was excellent throughout. The check at the end did seem pretty steep as we'd shared the sausage.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank masaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    181
    56
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Chestnut mousse tart ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We topped off an Upper East Side museum crawl with late afternoon coffee and desserts in Cafe Sabarsky. Had to wait in line for 20 minutes or so, but I prefer the wood-paneled room to the one downstairs in the Neue Galeries.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fun experience, very expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Went here for a brunch and were very disappointed to be told at 11 am exactly that there was no more breakfast (we had waited for 20 minutes or so). The breakfast here gets great reviews, so we were disappointed, but the lunch was pretty good. We had the potato dumpling with sauerkraut, which was very tasty.

The wood-paneled room is very elegant, with park views. It was a nice treat, but I wouldn't make this a regular spot.

BTW, it was CRAZY packed on a Sunday morning, with lots of people waiting in line.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibu
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Viennese diversion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Whenever I go to the MET (at 83rd and Fifth) which is often, I eschew eating there. Instead I walk a few blocks north, to 86th and Fifth, and to the Neue Galeries, a boutique museum that is an attraction in itself. You don't have to pay an museum entry to get in line for the Cafe there, a dark wood touch of the old world which offers a thoroughly Viennese menu as good as I ever had in that Austrian city. My favorites are the Goulash soup, a meal unto itself, a choice of wurstes, and a fantastic apple strudel, with, of course, a dash of shlag. A bit pricey, to be sure, but you save on airfare for the trip., and enjoy the slow walk back to the ever engaging MET.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam&Peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Spot for a Quick Bite on the UES”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Food is very good. Setting is lovely. Service was good. Good spot if you are in the neighborhood; however, would not be a destination restaurant for me.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MKCNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sabarsky also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Sabarsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing