We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming neighborhood French restaurant with excellent food”
Review of La Mirabelle

La Mirabelle
Reserve with OpenTable
La Mirabelle is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,854 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $35 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Charming neighborhood French restaurant with excellent food”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We were a party of nine and yet they accommodated us with a large round table. The service was delightful,helpful but not overbearing. The cassoulet special was delicious as were all our fish dishes. And the prices were reasonable for NYC. Would definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynnbrown68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    47
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Delightful experience, wonderful setting!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We visit NYC every two years for a meeting and this is our third visit to this lovely restaurant. What brought us here to begin with? The name! Mirabelle is a plum type fruit indigenous to the Alsace-Lorraine area of France and as being very familiar with the fruit, I had to try it out! Not disappointed would be an understatement as it is the same experience each time. The staff is French and there is a certain attitude, mood and elegance that is part of the scene. The menu? Tres Francais, and a very nice variety. There is only one dish that features Mirabelles - and that is a duck creation. It would be very nice if one of the desserts was a Mirabelle tart! On the wine menu was a bottle of brut called Mirabelle and it was excellent! We will return for sure!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladydrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Authentic French fare, comfortable setting”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

La Mirabelle provided our best meal on this trip, and judging by the rest of the diners it's popular with locals, from a couple celebrating an anniversary to a couple of birthday celebrations. The soups to start (mushroom and French onion) were very good. I had the duckling roti (half a bird, nice because you get a breast along with the leg and thigh) with a honey glaze and veggies, my wife had the sole meunière. Both were excellent. The fish and the duck were perfectly cooked and not overpowered by sauces. The profiteroles for dessert were tasty but a little dense, while my wife enjoyed the chocolate mousse. Both the wines were above-average. It's not inexpensive, but not outrageous either -- a good special occasion restaurant.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jfuquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Traditional Food, Elevated to the Next Level”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

It's a local trope that there are no good restaurants on the Upper West Side. It's also a lie. La Mirabelle is an exquisite treat masquerading as a simple little cafe with lace curtains. It's also on the pricey side, so we saved it for a special anniversary dinner. We were not disappointed. This place is rigorously unfashionable, from the homey decor to the elderly clientele. The lighting is soft and warm, but still bright enough to read the menus without squinting. But that's OK, because the motherly servers will walk you through a delicious meal you won't soon forget.

My husband had the house specialty, roast duck with mirabelle plums. I took Danielle's advice and ordered the special bouillabaise, which started with a half a lobster and was then chock full of mussels, monkfish, and a few huge prawns. There was a rich and piquant remoulade in case the saffron broth did not bring enough flavor. My husband's duck was beautifully cooked, and complemented by the sweet and savory plum sauce. His sides of potato, broccoli, and carrots were cooked a point and added lovely color to the plate. The main course was almost more food than our little table could hold, and eventually Danielle discreetly suggested she could pack up our leftovers to go. I eagerly agreed, since the desserts here are justly famous. We shared an order of crepes Suzette, duly set alight at the table, accompanied by a tiny glass of sweet dessert wine on the house and cups of dark, nutty coffee.

Not only is the food authentic, abundant, and delicious, the service and atmosphere are very much of the old world. Resolutely unfashionable, it's absolutely wonderful. We will be saving up to visit again for our next special occasion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmeliaEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Always a wonderful meal”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

La Mirabelle is a restaurant I always plan to go to when I am in NYC. The food is authentically French, the service is excellent and the atmosphere is serene while being busy. You definitely need to reserve here and have anything on the menu. It is all good. This time our group had the calve's liver - a lot of food but very good - the filet of sole (even Julia would give it five stars) and the monkfish, also very good. Among the starters, the asparagus with hollandaise sauce was tender and the sauce light as a feather, the Coquille St. Jacques almost a meal in itself, and the seafood salad a delightful mix of seafood and greens. The peche melba is always yummy and the creme caramel right up to standards. The wines by the glass are excellent as is the wine list in general.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chat89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mirabelle also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to La Mirabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing