We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Malecon Restaurant

El Malecon Restaurant
Ranked #3,010 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love it!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This place is the first Latino food I had in the US, there was alot to live up to after this trust me, they are Dominican and they are awesome!! You must have the Chicken..... Thanks guys!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GrantJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“If you like chicken...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had dinner with some friend the other night at El Malecon. As soon as you walk in, the smell of the rotisserie chicken hits you. The taste does not disappoint. This stuff is the real deal. Delicious.
The sangria and salad all made the dinner an experience that I will return for.
You could bottle the smell of that chicken. Yum!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mariscos Combinados!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

OK, El Malecon is obviously El Rey del Pollo, but sometime, get together and treat yourselves to their heaping, succulent seafood paella for around $35.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Let me be the first to stay that no Dominican restaurant will ever beat my mom's cooking, but this was pretty good. My girlfriend wanted to try some authentic Dominican food so we gave this a shot. The chicken was pretty good, had the white rice with red beans (habichuelas) and tostones. Also had a couple of Presidente which is incredibly hard to find in DC. Girlfriend had some grilled chicken breast with white rice and red beans. The portions were huge, so big that we had left overs and decided to give it to a homeless person up the street. I tore the chicken up tho, there was nothing left.

Great value too, 2 beers, a ginger ale and 2 orders of white rice/beans, half a chicken and grilled chicken for $40 (including tip). NOT BAD.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank domrep122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My New Favorite Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I were just going for a walk when I spotted this restaurant. I grabbed a menu (which I always do when I'm out for a walk while visiting the city) and proceeded to pour over it. I love trying different ethnic foods, so we decided to have dinner there with our daughter. None of us were very hungry at the time, so we picked the mixed grill to share, along with a plate of platanos maduros and a crispy pork mofongo. My husband also ordered the fish soup. Everything was excellent! There was so much food, we happily struggled to finish it! Two days later we went back for breakfast - I ordered a plantains and Spanish sausage omelet and thought I died and went to heaven! It was the BEST! As it was our last day in NYC, we decided to go back there for dinner. We shared the fish soupy rice and one of the daily specials, pernil. Again, so much food, excellent eats! This has now become a "must go-to" restaurant whenever I'm back in the city, especially since there are so many items I need to try!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Malecon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Malecon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing