We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Very BEST Indian Bites in the Big Apple!”
Review of Mughlai

Mughlai
Ranked #7,057 of 13,748 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: 75th Street
Transit: 1,2,3 to 72nd street & Broadway A,B,C to Central Park West & 72nd Street
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The Very BEST Indian Bites in the Big Apple!”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

As a Travel Writer, I spend a great deal of time 'eating out' and I often enjoy staying in New York at the Beacon Hotel, because I can cook for myself and the famous fresh-food Fairway Market is a short strool across Broadway.
Then, I discovered, MUGHLAI where the Indian food is strictly top-shelf, without having to dig deep into mortgage money for a meal. I can host friends and family in this place, ask for special order attention, and get back smiles and meals that surpass other Indian offers I've attempted. Look around when you visit: The 'locals' love this relaxed spot, and the menu delivered tongue-teasing magic. If you want an Indian taste treat when you're in NYC, head uptown to Mughlai and tell "Naseem' the Australians sent ya. Mark Sheehan, author of "America Over Easy!"- The Know BEFORE you go guide to the USA.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AmericaOverEasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    28
    12
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Fl
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food Ever! Worth the trip to NY just for this”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We discovered Mughlai on our last trip to NY and we made sure to go back on this trip. The food is the best Indian food we have ever had (and we like Indian food). The service was excellent. Make sure you get the Poori!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brookeb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Awful..over priced little food/ and drink”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We should have known not to stay when two different waiters started pushing drinks before we barely got seated and organized.

This is not a place where you stop at the local startbucks afterwards to top off the meal. The luncheon special was so small there was three small chunks of meat in small dish of curry. The rice was just a couple of small spoonfuls. Then there was some mushy type vegetables.
The food tasted fine but there was so little of it that it was hard to appreciate it as you had the feeling of getting ripped off.

Not only that they charged a 20% gratuity for a mid day meal when there was no one else there. We have been charged 18% but that was in a very busy and popular restaurent in Times Sq.

With drink for the kids and no refillss($5.95 for mango drink alone), food, and gratuity the bill was $92 and we went away hungry.

Walk a bit further down Columbus as there are much better restaurants..

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, good atmosphere”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We greatly enjoyed the food and service at this restaurant. It is spacious and well-lit, so it's a bit different from most Indian restaurants. The food was certainly the highlight, but the service was also very good. Highly recommend this Upper West Side restaurant.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Isobelsophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most wonderful service and divine food”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Thank you to our hosts at Mughlai. After a tricky day negotiating NYC subway, closed tourist attractions, and jetlag. We entered a haven of peace on the Morth west side. Thank you for you excellent sense of humour, orientating us, taking care of us, inciting us to try the perfectly matched beers AND serving us the most beautiful food. Loved it and recommend to all. Great staying power in a city of constant flux and changes!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeingFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mughlai also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Mughlai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing