We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good In Every Way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cesca

Cesca
Reserve with OpenTable
Cesca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,419 of 13,489 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: Amsterdam
Transit: 1,9,2,3 to 72nd and Broadway and C train to 72nd and Central Park West.
New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good In Every Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

It's off on a side street, so unless you are looking for it, it's not all that likely that you will find it. Even the entry, just one building in from Amsterdam Avenue, does't stand out. But once inside, the dining room is more than big enough to feel spacious, yet broken up into sections to make it feel intimate. Seating is comfortable, with just a bit more space than the usual NYC tight standard. Room is attractive, crowd comfortable and animated, a good time feeling is in the air. Noise level is up there, but no so much as to strain conversation. The help looks sharp, and the service is spot-on. They are there when you need them, the food arrives at the right pace, the presentation is professional.

And the best part of all is the food itself. To name a couple of plates, we had the wood oven roasted egg parmessean frisse truffle appy, which, may sound just a bit over the top. And it is, it is a bit of a surprise, an original, light, fun, and well worth it. Then there is the lamb shank. Looked too large on the plate, but when disected was just the right amount of food as at the core were 3 good-sized bones. The meat was cooked to be fork tender, the fat almost completely rendered, yet the the meat was fully firm with the intensive natural flavor intact. Spices and reduction as usual, but in addition there was a touch of orange rind adding a distinct highlight and just a bit of the right bitter kick. Couldn't be better.

As to prices, more than fair. The frisee egg $16, the shank $29.

A delightful evening all around. Recommend highly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NYorkAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    72
    27
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
279 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The outside does not prepare you for the cavernous, comfortable interior. Classic restaurant layout that doesn't cramp and with very private booths as well. We were delighted with the serving staff and the quality of the food. A good wine list (although only Italian wines represented) and reasonable prices for the dinner. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank wolfsbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis, missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Italian in Manhattan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Ate here last night with family who lives in NYC and eats here often . It did not disappoint . Comfy large booths and cozy atmosphere. We could also hear ourselves talk. Server was great- told her what I was looking for in a wine, she brought several to try that were spot on and then proceeded to refill our carafe beyond the mezzo we ordered. Lasagna was large enough for two. Mussels with linguine were excellent as well. Striped bass was excellent. marscapone cheesecake was good and my husband enjoyed the fall apple crisp. Loved it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vetmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Satisfied a myriad of Palates!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

A wonderful dining experience for four of us that included two carnivores, one vegetarian and one vegan! And that's not always so easy. We all absolutely loved our meals; the duck and veal got rave reviews, the roasted vegetables were astoundingly delicious (try the brussel sprouts!) and the evening special appetizer, the Ribolita, was amazing. Beautiful salads, great service, fun, high energy place. Would return in a heartbeat!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyFirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner before a show at the Beacon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a very nice pre-show dinner here on a Thursday night in October. The hostess was very friendly and inquired if we were going to the Beacon as many of their diners were also, and they'd be sure to get us out on time.

All four of us had a salad with fresh mozzerella, arugula, and tomatoes -- delicious. Four different entrees for the four of us -- all wonderful. Dessert arrived -- a chocolate cake with ice cream and two candles to celebrate my birthday.

The food was good -- pricey due to the NYC location -- and we would absolutely return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ConnieFromConnecticu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cesca also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cesca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing