We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest home made Italian food are super reasonable prices”
Review of Gennaro

Gennaro
Ranked #1,656 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Honest home made Italian food are super reasonable prices”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Although they only take cash and no reservations, if you can get into Gennaro's (before 6:30 or after 8 pm) you will not be disappointed. Even their sausage is homemade. Wonderful soups, I absolutely loved the grilled shrimp salad with artichokes, fresh corn and avocado. The food comes out hot, all at once and quickly and the wait staff is attentive. Makes you feel like you must have an Italian grandmother in the kitchen cooking. Their polenta is rather runny but still delicious. Liver and onions excellent. Many many homemade pasta dishes to choose from, baby lamp chops, fish, veal chops, you name it, they have it. But remember they only take cash.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    44
    16
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“excellent local neighborhood Italian restaurant”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The restaurant was packed for a weeknight. Tables quite close together and unfortunately the waiter kept bumping into my dining partner's chair and not even realizing it. Our entrees came out much later than other diners near us so we suspect that they forgot to put in our order with the kitchen.
There was a long list of specials ranging from pasta to fish to meats. I had the linguini with eggplant and swordfish which was good but not outstanding. The atmosphere was lively a bit noisy but overall a very good dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhillyDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Out of this world!!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Lots of specials and awesome food. I had a veal chop pounded thin which was out of this world! My wife had lamb chops that were perfect and my daughter had pasta that was delicious. We will be back!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VPfromLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“kids paradise”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

No. Gennaro's has gone downhill as more and more better options have opened in the neighborhood. It's not expensive but easy for a couple to spend $100. plus without beverages/alcohol for a mediocre experience.

The food: soft shell crabs must have been cooked a day earlier and were served on very dry couscous. The pear and cheese salad had 1 tiny sliver of cheese. The eggplant tomato pasta had very little sauce, mostly plain pasta. Veal chop special was ok. Steaks are fatty.

Setting: kids paradise. 7 PM on a Saturday and endless high chairs. At the table next to us kids were watching cartoons on an ipad, no war plugs. Honestly.

No table clothes and no matter how many courses you have as they clear the tables they keep handing you your dirty fork again and again. Service is indifferent at best though ones food comes quickly as they try to hustle you in and out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marianneNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Dinner”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great food and service, first time at the restaurant...will definitely return the next time in town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gennaro also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Gennaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing