We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent sushi”
Review of Haru Sushi

Haru Sushi
Reserve with OpenTable
Haru Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,498 of 13,820 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Decent sushi”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I've both ordered from here and come here for lunch. This place is definitely run of the mill. There is nothing special about the food but it is fine for what it is. Sushi, pho soup, and pad thai are all decent. I did not care for the bland shrimp tempura udon noodle soup. If you go in, expect to stand around for a while before they notice you. Otherwise the service at the table is pretty good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachelia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    28
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Great sushi, interesting and delicious house rolls and great atmosphere. I had the grammercy roll , the perfect fantasy roll plus tried a couple pieces of nigiri. everything was fresh and tasty! Oh yes - and the red bean paste ice cream (yum!)

A+ from a sushi snob!

Helpful?
Thank The-Hershmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious Sushi-Happy Hour”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We found this restaurant walking around the streets by our hotel. We had dinner and found out they were still having happy hour. The sushi bar is fantastic and everything we eat was delicious. Good value for your money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Upper west side sushi”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We eat here everytime we are in town, and love to sit at the sushi bar.
Rolls are excellent, fish is super fresh. They always send me a coupon for my birthday. Ate here in December...going back end of Feb.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank clearlakelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fav sushi on UWS”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoy this place. Definitely my fav sushi restaurant on the UWS. Really vibey in the evenings. Lovely cocktails too!

Helpful?
Thank RedGray24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haru Sushi also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Haru Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing