We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great NYC experience”
Review of Isabella's - CLOSED

Isabella's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: 77th Street
Transit: A, B, C & D trains to 80th Street/Central Park West, and 1 train to 79th Street. M10 bus on Columbus Ave and 77th Street.
Description: A faithful neighborhood favorite, Isabella’s has been an Upper West Side institution for over two decades, a hit with locals and celebrities alike. Isabella’s defines Upper West Side dining with reliable market-fresh offerings for the Mediterranean palate. From birthdays to celebratory brunches, many a memories have been made at Isabella’s and continue unfolding at this “oasis for an unrushed, delicious meal,” according to Zagat. When the weather’s pleasant, grab a sidewalk seat in the café for a classic New York Brunch filled with people-watching, benedicts and Bloody Marys. Indulge your sweet tooth in a Chocolate Bag, a dessert staple that’s been on the menu since opening day!
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Very good food great atmosphere good service. It's tough to pick I know lots of choices in New York City. This can very easily be one of your better choices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank norway m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Isabella's, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Isabella's!

It truly means a lot to us to hear from you and we are delighted you enjoyed your experience!

We hope to have you dine with us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 276 of 702 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

Had brunch there today out of curiosity after not having been there for many years. Sat a crammed table inside with little wiggle room on either side. $14.00 for a paltry Belgian waffle served with about 3 strawberries? Come on, people! My friend's mushroom omelette, which was very good, was served with ice cold home fries. We didn't even bother to send them back. We just won't ever eat there again. Better brunches can be had at local neighborhood diners on the both the East and West Sides, and that's where I'll be going in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LadyLucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We went there because we saw it in the travel guide and we didn't regret it.
We went on sunday for the brunch and it was exellent. We ordered eggs benedict that were delicious and a very nice bloody mary.
I've recommended it to all my friends visiting NY.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kikicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Isabella's, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Isabella's!

It truly means a lot to us to hear from you and we are so glad that you enjoyed your brunch with us.

We hope to have you dine with us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

After struggling to find a special reasonably priced meal in Midtown I did a quick Google and found Isabella's. It was conveniently located near Central Park where we were heading the following day. We ate at lunchtime where prices for a main course were $15-$20. I chose the chicken skewers with lemon fries and greek salad. The staff were extremely attentive and provided us with glasses of tap water as we were seated. The dinner prices were reasonable too and we would have gone back only it was our last day in NYC!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kristen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Isabella's, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Isabella's!

It truly means a lot to us to hear from you and we are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch.

We hope to have you dine with us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We came across this little gem after visiting the New York Historical Society Museum. I had the sweet pea ravioli with a mint and pistachio pesto, and would go back in a heart beat to eat it again! They also had a Artichoke Romana with shaved fennel that we split as an appetizer that was very nice. My husband had an interesting desert...berries and cream served in a chocolate bag....an optical delight! And the service we had was wonderful!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Isabella's, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Isabella's!

It truly means a lot to us to hear from you and we appreciate your feedback.

We hope to have you join us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabella's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing