We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous find”
Review of Isabella's - CLOSED

Isabella's
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: 77th Street
Transit: A, B, C & D trains to 80th Street/Central Park West, and 1 train to 79th Street. M10 bus on Columbus Ave and 77th Street.
Description: A faithful neighborhood favorite, Isabella’s has been an Upper West Side institution for over two decades, a hit with locals and celebrities alike. Isabella’s defines Upper West Side dining with reliable market-fresh offerings for the Mediterranean palate. From birthdays to celebratory brunches, many a memories have been made at Isabella’s and continue unfolding at this “oasis for an unrushed, delicious meal,” according to Zagat. When the weather’s pleasant, grab a sidewalk seat in the café for a classic New York Brunch filled with people-watching, benedicts and Bloody Marys. Indulge your sweet tooth in a Chocolate Bag, a dessert staple that’s been on the menu since opening day!
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We went there after the Museum of Natural History and after my daughter got married at city hall. They accommodated a party of 10 on short notice and treated us exceptionally well. The food was great offered variety and was very well priced. From the host to the waitress to the owner who came over and welcomed us everything was wonderful. I ordered the blue cheese crusted filet mignon and au gratin potatoes and it was delightful and only $28.00 a bargain. Desert was delicious my husband and I shared crème brule and their signature chocolate box. ( the owner said it had had debuted on their original menu 26 years ago) I can't say enough about what a great experience the whole evening was. Kudos to them

Thank debbie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Isabella's, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know how much you enjoyed your visit to Isabella's!

We are delighted that you chose to dine with us for such a joyous occasion! We appreciate your wonderful feedback and hope to have you join us again soon.

All the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 298 of 702 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

We like to stay on the upper west side (near Central Park, Museum of Natural History, and our son :-)) so we eat here a couple of times per year. The staff is very friendly despite the demanding New Yorkers, and the food is always great. Don't miss the fresh salads and seafood. If you visit in summer try for the outdoor tables, a great place to people watch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Isabella's, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know how much you enjoyed your experience at Isabella's!

It truly means a lot to us to hear from you and we appreciate your wonderful feedback.

We hope to have you join us again soon and wish you all the best.

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We hadn't been to Isabella's in over a year. I forgot how good it was. We met friends there on a cold January night and had a great time. Isabella's has such a cozy feeling in the Winter. Being very cold when we arrived,we sat at the bar and had a great martini. The staff is always happy, friendly and helpful. If you don't want a large meal, their appetizers are great and a pretty large portion. We got a mixture of their entrees: Cod, pork chop and pasta with chicken. All of them were good. Nice wine list and a good value. It is also a wonderful place in the Spring to sit outside and just people watch. It was great to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank delospoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Isabella's, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know how much you enjoyed your visit to Isabella's!

It truly means a lot to us to hear from you and we appreciate your positive feedback.

We hope to have you dine with us again very soon and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Two of us had the fish tacos and the third had the Cobb Salad. The salad was a huge portion. It provided two extra meals at home

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mjm814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Isabella's, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Isabella's!

We are delighted to hear your feedback and hope to have you visit again soon.

Thank you again and we wish you all the best.

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Isabella's is a favourite of mine. I think this was my fourth visit; I go whenever I'm staying on the Upper West side, or when at the American Museum of Natural History. It's a perfect family restaurant (although I've been there as a couple too, and also with my sister). It features a perfect blend of good food at a competitive price. We had our first dinner here on a recent trip, and my 16 year old kept asking if we could go back! The only criticism I have are that the washrooms could have been cleaner, but I think that was an anomaly as they've been in good condition in the past. Don't let that keep you away from this terrific restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Isabella's, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know how much you enjoyed your visit to Isabella's!

It truly means a lot to us to hear from you and we appreciate your positive feedback.

We hope to have you dine with us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabella's also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing