We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local restaurant let down by bad service”
Review of Cafe Luxembourg

Cafe Luxembourg
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Luxembourg is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #298 of 13,765 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: Amsterdam
Transit: 1,2,3 at 72nd Street
Description: Cafe Luxembourg is a charming French bistro in New York offering a delicious seasonal menu and an impressive full service bar. Whether you are in the mood for a romantic dinner for two or a lively brunch with friends, Cafe Luxembourg provides a uniquely intimate ambience in the middle of the city. Located on 70th Street just west of Broadway, Cafe Luxembourg entertains celebrities and locals alike. Our seasonal menu is on par with the city’s best restaurants, with options for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good local restaurant let down by bad service”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We arrived five minutes early and were waiting for friends, and were told to stand over by the bar. We were not invited to have a drink and were rudely told to move out of the way, even though there was nowhere else to go. When we were seated, we ordered a bottle of wine and the waiter brought one that was a later year vintage. When we pointed out that it was not what was on the wine list, there was no apology for the mistake. Apart from the service, we enjoyed the French bistro-style food and ambience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan N, GM at Cafe Luxembourg, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. While we're glad you enjoyed our food and ambiance, we'd like to apologize if you were treated rudely at all. That's not typical of us, and we're capable of so much better. We pride ourselves in being gracious and hospitable. I will remind the staff how important it is to be kind, even when they are stressed or busy. Thanks again for letting us know.

Sincerely,
Luxembourg Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    207
    49
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My favourite NYC restaurant”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We go here ALL the time - I've never had a bad meal or a less than perfect experience. LOVE the food, the staff are all fantastic and the ambience is old school, magical and authentically NEW YORK does Paris!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RedGray24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan N, Manager at Cafe Luxembourg, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thanks for your loyal support and glowing review. "I've never had a bad meal or a less than perfect experience"—we're truly flattered to hear that. Looking forward to welcoming you back next time!

All the best,

Luxembourg Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best hamburger in Ny city”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Went there with Ny friends that suggest me that place...waiters are super nice and meat quality is very highly reccommended to enjoy a european atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank Kia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan N, Manager at Cafe Luxembourg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We're delighted to hear you had a 5-star experience with us, Kia. The high-quality food and "European atmosphere" you mention are our signatures, and it's great to hear you were impressed by both. Hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon!

All the best,

Luxembourg Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have eaten here many times over the years--brunch, lunch, and dinner--but this was my first visit in a number of years. We were a party of six for dinner before the opera at nearby Lincoln Center and in all respects, it was a very enjoyable meal. Our waiter was gracious, attentive, and helpful. While I have always liked the place in the past, over the years there have been dips.in the quality of the food. Not this time. Everything was delicious and I was especially pleased.with the grilled chicken. The noise level was just fine and the prices were very reasonable. I have always felt.comfortable.here and that has not.changed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CardinalePrimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan N, Manager at Cafe Luxembourg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Welcome back, Alan! Consistency is one of our top priorities, so it's great to hear your most recent visit was as enjoyable as ever. We appreciate the 5 stars and look forward to having you at our table next time!

All the best,

Luxembourg Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumneytown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Where the locals go”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Four of us were warmly greeted upon arrival for a pre-theatre dinner and given our choice of seating. Our perfectly prepared drinks promptly arrived and we were given the time to savor them. Our server was gracious,professional,and efficient yet she did seem to disappear at times. The salad appetizers were delightful,chock full of a variety of fresh ingredients with refreshing dressings. Three of us had the Luxembourgers,and one of us said that it was "the best burger" he ever had. Enough said. The pappardelle was delightful.It was well preportioned, and with with a scrumptous sauce. A suggestion would be that it contain more of the moist and tender meat and less of the pasta. Other than that,it was delightful. Desert was superb! Even more superb was the crew. Everyone we had contact with went out of thier way to ensure that we had a positive experience. We shall return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bretseahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan N, Manager at Cafe Luxembourg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We're thrilled to hear you had such a pleasant dining experience. Thanks for the kind words, as well as the constructive criticism on the pappardelle—our kitchen staff will appreciate it. The next time you're in the mood for a meal out, you know where to find us!

All the best,

Luxembourg Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Luxembourg also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing