We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant in Bay Plaza is closed”
Review of Dallas BBQ - CLOSED

Dallas BBQ
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Restaurant in Bay Plaza is closed”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Went there today (2/5/2013), and the restaurant has been shut down and a vacate order is posted on the doors and windows. Says that the place was dangerous to civilians...go figure, smh. Food was great. Not sure what happened.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    123
    35
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Dallas BBQ strikes out”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

A fanatic is someone who tries the same thing over and over with the hope of better results. I have been to Dallas BBQ at three locations in New York City -- 23rd & 8th Ave., 3rd Ave. near 72nd St., and most recently on 42nd St. near Times Square, In each instance the experience has been disappointing.

While not quite a fanatic about barbecue, I do like it. That explains my three trips to the plates at Dallas BBQ. They offer a rack of "slowly smoked Bar-B-Qued baby back ribs, served with cornbread and a choice of baked or french fried Idaho potatoes." for $11.99. That seems like quite a bargain, as most BBQ places in Manhattan charge $20 - $25 for such a meal. However, the ribs are the smallest you will ever see, and not terribly meaty, and don't have the hickory-smoked flavor of well-cooked ribs. Overall, the food is quite bland.

The huge dining room on 42nd St. reminds one of a dining hall at a college or factory: scores of small tables lined up very close to each other. You will know everything nearby diners are talking about.

Drinks: I had a Margarita which was improperly made -- it should have been shaken in a shaker with ice, but this one was curiously lukewarm, and the alcohol content seemed low or non-existent. It was also bland for lack of lime juice. In all, an experience one does not wish to have again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Atlas66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Windsor, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Deal in Tourist Area”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Food: Dallas BBQ isn't ever going to win any awards, but it's good comfort food. The cornbread in particular is excellent - always moist without being too wet, and fluffy without being too dry. I have tried their ribs (tender and tangy), rotisserie chicken (moist and satisfying), and some kind of AWESOME burger that had sliced brisket on top of it.

Service: I've been here twice, and received very different service. My wife and I went in the evening about an hour before curtain; upon telling the waitress of our time restriction we were blown away by her responsive service. In and out in a total of 35 mins. The second time, just last Sunday during the day, it took 15 mins just to flag down a waiter to take our drink order.

Atmosphere: It's larger than most Times Square joints, but they have many tables crammed in the space so you'll still practically be sitting on top of other diners.

Value: WIN! If you must go to a tourist trap, you will find NO BETTER VALUE. Their combo plates (1/2 chicken, 1/2 rack of ribs, side, and cornbread) are only $12.99 as of this writing. In most tourist joints that $12.99 will buy you a half sandwich. They serve beer in chalices. CHALICES, I SAY - also at resonable prices.

Dallas BBQ has become my de facto place to go when I'm in that area and need cheap, flling food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliver R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accord, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sorry we don't have milk or juice available.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Recently had a late lunch with my family including my two year old grandson. The food was ok, our waiter was attentive and the check was reasonable. I do have a few complaints. When I asked if there was a children's menu I was told they only have chicken tenders. Luckily my grandson loves chicken tenders but the portion was enough to feed a full grown man. Second I asked for milk or juice for my grandson. I was told all they have is soda or orange juice. I found this to be strange. No milk? Third I agree with a previous review the restrooms are filthy! I did send an email to the restaurant but never received a response. I wouldn't list this restaurant as family friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“For hungry people!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

OMG if you are hungry this is the place to go - masses of food but I have to say it wasn't a case of quanity over quality - the meat was very tender and tasty. The chips looked like they had been hanging about in the kitchen for a while - thankfully I order salad with mine so managed to finish it all. The prices are good. It is abit out of the way, jsut happened to see if when walking from central park, it is in more of a residential area. overall worth going - if you are hungry!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aprilmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dallas BBQ also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing