We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Don't Know NY Dogs if You've Never Been Here”
Review of Gray's Papaya

Gray's Papaya
Get food delivered
Ranked #98 of 804 Quick Bites in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Lincoln Square
Reviewed July 25, 2016

How anyone can pass Gray's without salivating is beyond me.It is a NYC landmark of our city's hotdog, and it shouldn't be missed by any self-professed foodie, high-brow, low-brow or no-brow.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Seymour M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 276 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

The service is quick. The dogs are amazing. Thank God they are open 24/7. Anytime I feel hungry, I just head over. Try their delicious drinks as well. ALL are good. They are fair priced to top it off. What a treat. Enjoy. 72st and Amsterdam Avenue.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Kenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

We went here as it is an iconic place in New York, but the hot dog really wasn't anything special. There isn't much you can do to a hot dog to make it great though, so if you are going to have a hot dog in NY (which you should!) it might as well be here.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Johanler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

We shared two dressed dogs and a coconut and pineapple juice. The dogs were perfect. The juice was unbelievable. I wish I had a bottle of rum to go with it.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank cherylp207
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 11, 2016

I had been dreaming about coming to this place since I was a little girl. It lived up to the expectations. My mom and I enjoyed every single bite and want to come back next time we are in New York.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank 210mariateresar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Gray's Papaya also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Gray's Papaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.