We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Authentic Turkish Cuisine”
Review of Pasha

Pasha
Reserve with OpenTable
Pasha is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,837 of 13,765 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: Columbus
Transit: 1,2,3,C,B trains
Description: With its deep red walls and skylight dining room, Pasha is one of the best Turkish restaurants in North America. Anyone who wants to take a "magical carpet ride" to Istanbul in a very elegant and comfortable ambience and warm and friendly service should visit Pasha.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding Authentic Turkish Cuisine”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Great service. Delectable taste. Super ambience. We had the Sigara Boregi, Manti and Imam Bayaldi...which were outstanding. For the Entree try the Yogurtlu Kebab and Hunkar Begendi. Make sure to finish off with the Turkish coffee and desert. Also a great lounge area to hang out in for a pre dinner drink.

Helpful?
Thank HM786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    67
    24
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bayport, New York
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good price”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We recently went to this restaurant located on the Upper West side of Manhattan. We were in the area and happened to stumble upon it and it was a good find. The place is deceivingly bigger than it looks. You walk downstairs from the street into the restaurant and immediately get a feel of stepping into an authentic turkish eatery. The decor and servers had a very middle eastern feel to it. They offered a variety of lamb dishes as well as vegetarian dishes and there was something to eat for every one. The turkish pita bread is different than the Greek or Israeli pita and was delicious. They offer a prix fixe menu for $27.95 which came with appetizer, entree, dessert and coffee and was a great way to taste a variety of different dishes. The Tavuk Gogsu Sarmasi (Marinated chicken in a tarragon sauce) and the Yogurtlu Kebab (lamb in a yogurt and tomato sauce with pita) were very tasty. For dessert the Baklava and Kazandibi (flan like) dessert were also very good. I certainly would return to this restaurant in the future.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A new find for our NYC favorites list”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Walking distance to Lincoln Center, so perfect for a before- or after-concert or show dinner.
Bar in the front of the house, with small low tables where people enjoyed drinks and conversation. Looks very much like a familiar neighborhood spot for grown-ups. We agreed that it could be a go-to place if we lived nearby - relaxed enough to sit at the bar with a drink and bite to eat, but sophisticated and beautifully appointed. In the back, a large yet intimate-feeling dining room - deep exotic red on the walls, plush carpet, comfortable upholstered chairs, crisp cloths and napkins, soft lighting. Attentive staff but not intrusive or fussy. Just enough choices on the menu and excellent value for the cost. Excellent special cocktails and good selection of wines by the glass. Generous portions, delicious Turkish items - the leeks appetizer was dreamy, the chicken stuffed with pine nuts and spices flavored just right, the lamb kebab (actually slices of lamb in a bowl with creamy yogurt and baked cheese) out of this world. Desserts not great, but good enough to top off the meal with very good coffee. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Solid Turkish Restaurant”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Dinner on a weekday evening; I made a reservation but it was not necessary - there were plenty of tables still available. Service was polite, quick, quiet and attentive (and they may actually have been Turkish!). Appetizer medley was underwhelming, but main courses were delicious. I had the lamb special - it was tender and tasty. Ambiance in restaurant is quiet and comfortable. Food samples are displayed around the restaurant but with a sign "For Display Only!" - a bit annoying; why show it at all? Or put it under a glass cover.

I absolutely recommend for a nice, quiet, intimate meal with friends and family.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Winston V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Had a delicious dinner here; very tasty and fairly priced. Good attentive service and lovely ambience. We sat in the back room. It was easy to converse with our friends and we enjoyed sharing appetizers and learning new Turkish dishes. Have booked another dinner here next week, pre- theatre, and will try the prix fixe menu then. Good find!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sydNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasha also viewed

 

Been to Pasha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing