We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place. Dog Theme”
Review of Fred's

Fred's
Ranked #732 of 13,638 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Description: Time Out NY named us one of The Best Burgers in the City, and our Macaroni -n- Cheese made with aged cheddar is legendary.Fred’s well-rounded menu has something for everyone, be it Crab Cake Benedict or an omelet for brunch, Fred’s Pear Salad, a burger, Lobster Ravioli, or our New York Shell Steak for dinner. Our desserts are the perfect finish to any meal, whether you choose our Homemade Cheesecake or California Carrot Cake.Our full bar is always a great atmosphere to enjoy a drink and get to meet other people. Try a themed cocktail off of our menu, like Hair of the Dog or Paw Punch. We also offer Trivia ever Monday at 8:30 p.m.
Margate City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Place. Dog Theme”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Named after a black lab, Fred's is a casual restaurant with walls lined with photos of DOGS! Went for Sunday brunch. $16.95 for full brunch including coffee and a Bloody Mary! Kid friendly dining rooms with a full bar up front. Quick service too. We will return....

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margate08402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    109
    29
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot on the UWS”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Just went to Fred's for the first time with a bunch of friends and it was great! The staff is so welcoming and friendly without being intrusive. The menu is great with lots of fun choices and the prices are very reasonable, especially for NYC. They did not rush us, even though we had one of the largest groups in the restaurant and they were crowded. I will definitely being going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vhbeck84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great family spot”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Been to Fred's a few times with my family and have never been disappointed! The service is very friendly and the restaurant has a great atmosphere. Can't go wrong with one of their delicious burgers. Plus as a dog lover, the pictures of dogs on the walls only makes this place even greater.

Helpful?
Thank Travelernyc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

What a great late night find for our tired family! Warm,inviting and welcoming with fabulous but easy going service. Nothing too unusual on the menu but everything we had was excellent. The roast chicken was crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside and both our kids loved their pasta dishes. They have hundreds of dog photos on their walls which we enjoyed - there is a dog story behind their name. Happy to have found them.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Constantlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allentown
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great family friendly spot”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We ate at Fred's on a Saturday night during Christmas break following our day at the American Museum of Natural History. We had read about this restaurant on the Mommy Poppins blog of family friendly spots. It did not disappoint. We had a group of 8 - 4 adults and 4 kids ages 15, 7, 7, 5. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. kids menu and crayons. Excellent pear and pomegranate martini ! We all enjoyed our meals and found the prices to be excellent....not that much different then back home ! Service was terrific- they kept our water glasses full, which was much appreciated after a long day of sightseeing. It was a perfect place to be with our kids and we felt like we were in a neighborhood joint. The rest of the diners were a mixture of adult and families with kids. The décor is nothing fancy (dog pics all over the wall). We would come back in a heartbeat for the value, good food, and family friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kstiles39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred's also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Fred's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing