We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great American food”
Review of Fred's

Fred's
Ranked #1,009 of 14,292 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Description: Time Out NY named us one of The Best Burgers in the City, and our Macaroni -n- Cheese made with aged cheddar is legendary.Fred’s well-rounded menu has something for everyone, be it Crab Cake Benedict or an omelet for brunch, Fred’s Pear Salad, a burger, Lobster Ravioli, or our New York Shell Steak for dinner. Our desserts are the perfect finish to any meal, whether you choose our Homemade Cheesecake or California Carrot Cake.Our full bar is always a great atmosphere to enjoy a drink and get to meet other people. Try a themed cocktail off of our menu, like Hair of the Dog or Paw Punch. We also offer Trivia ever Monday at 8:30 p.m.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went here as my partner has never had meatloaf.

The service was excellent. We were asked where we wanted to sit and a table was cleared outside straight away. We ordered drinks which came quickly.

The waitress offered ideas on the menu, but we both went for the meatloaf. Both the mains and starters we had were generous portions and really tasty. The prices are more than reasonable to.

This was the best meal we had whilst in NYC and I would recommend this place to everyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 21mapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, General Manager at Fred's, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Hi:

So glad you and your partner enjoyed your visit to Fred's, and our meatloaf. Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 197 of 286 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great mac n cheese for sure. It's amazing how this dish can brighten your day. Tasting something made so well and delicious set a good mood for the rest of my day. This is coming from a mac n cheese snob straight from Tennessee! Thanks Fred's from Brigitte Grisanti New York Foodie

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brigitte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, General Manager at Fred's, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Hi, Brigitte:

Thank you for coming to visit us at Fred's. Very glad that our mac and cheese helped brighten your day. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a no nonsense restaurant that serves up Americana. It is true that they serve the best Mac and Cheese in New York, and so many ways. Also good pastas and salads. Something on the menu for everyone, and not too expensive.

Thank The_Walrus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, General Manager at Fred's, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for coming to visit us. Very glad to hear you loved our mac and cheese -- we agree that its the best in New York. Please come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Yet another brilliant and popular restaurant in the UWS. A stroll from Hotel Beacon we called in early to find the place packed out. We had possibly the best nachos ever (and enough for a party of 4). I then had possibly the best Mac and cheese ever. My OH had the Spicy chicken wings with blue cheese (advertised as a starter but when it came it was ginormous and plenty as a main) with a side of fries. It defeated us and we had to get a doggy bag to carry out.
Well worth a go (but BE Hungry!!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 2016-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, General Manager at Fred's, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Hi, Paul:

So very glad you enjoyed your visit with us. I'm particularly glad you enjoyed our mac and cheese. We hope you come back to visit us again the next time you're on the Upper West Side.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Nice people in this downstairs and on the street place at 83rd and Amsterdam. A bit crowded but very pleasant with a good menu and fine, warm service. Nice bar and good bartenders. A very nice place to hang out with friends; we did so for 3 hours one recent Thursday night and had a good meal, decent wine at decent prices and were well treated by all. Outside in better weather is a treat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, General Manager at Fred's, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hi, Bruce:

Thank you for coming in. Am very glad you enjoyed your time at our bar. We hope you come to visit again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred's also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Fred's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing