We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to Go Back Another Time”
Review of Fred's

Fred's
Ranked #937 of 14,125 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Description: Time Out NY named us one of The Best Burgers in the City, and our Macaroni -n- Cheese made with aged cheddar is legendary.Fred’s well-rounded menu has something for everyone, be it Crab Cake Benedict or an omelet for brunch, Fred’s Pear Salad, a burger, Lobster Ravioli, or our New York Shell Steak for dinner. Our desserts are the perfect finish to any meal, whether you choose our Homemade Cheesecake or California Carrot Cake.Our full bar is always a great atmosphere to enjoy a drink and get to meet other people. Try a themed cocktail off of our menu, like Hair of the Dog or Paw Punch. We also offer Trivia ever Monday at 8:30 p.m.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a no nonsense restaurant that serves up Americana. It is true that they serve the best Mac and Cheese in New York, and so many ways. Also good pastas and salads. Something on the menu for everyone, and not too expensive.

Thank The_Walrus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, General Manager at Fred's, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for coming to visit us. Very glad to hear you loved our mac and cheese -- we agree that its the best in New York. Please come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 197 of 284 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Yet another brilliant and popular restaurant in the UWS. A stroll from Hotel Beacon we called in early to find the place packed out. We had possibly the best nachos ever (and enough for a party of 4). I then had possibly the best Mac and cheese ever. My OH had the Spicy chicken wings with blue cheese (advertised as a starter but when it came it was ginormous and plenty as a main) with a side of fries. It defeated us and we had to get a doggy bag to carry out.
Well worth a go (but BE Hungry!!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 2016-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, General Manager at Fred's, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Hi, Paul:

So very glad you enjoyed your visit with us. I'm particularly glad you enjoyed our mac and cheese. We hope you come back to visit us again the next time you're on the Upper West Side.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Nice people in this downstairs and on the street place at 83rd and Amsterdam. A bit crowded but very pleasant with a good menu and fine, warm service. Nice bar and good bartenders. A very nice place to hang out with friends; we did so for 3 hours one recent Thursday night and had a good meal, decent wine at decent prices and were well treated by all. Outside in better weather is a treat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, General Manager at Fred's, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hi, Bruce:

Thank you for coming in. Am very glad you enjoyed your time at our bar. We hope you come to visit again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The menu has great choices of all taste. It a nice New York neigborhood with relatively easy street parking. The food is fresh, tasty, priced right, and its a comfortable place to have a relaxing meal with family & friends. The have a good beer, wine, and drink selection too. Everyone also gets homemade raisin bread with homemade strawberry cream cheese. There street side dinning was perfect for lunch or dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nilda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, General Manager at Fred's, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Nilda:

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. So glad to hear you enjoyed your brunch in our outdoor cafe. Hope to see you again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

On the corner, down a flight of stairs and very small this is a great place. A real restaurant with a 'usual suspects' sort of bar crowd and the wait staff have their hands full squeezing us all in. This is a not to be missed place if there are 4 people out for the eventing who want great food ($$$) and a vibrant atmosphere.

Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly E, Owner at Fred's, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hello Wayne,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your recommendation, as well as your kind words about our food and atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,
Kimberly Evans, Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred's also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Fred's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing