We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the chicken parm”
Review of Fred's

Fred's
Ranked #932 of 13,748 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Description: Time Out NY named us one of The Best Burgers in the City, and our Macaroni -n- Cheese made with aged cheddar is legendary.Fred’s well-rounded menu has something for everyone, be it Crab Cake Benedict or an omelet for brunch, Fred’s Pear Salad, a burger, Lobster Ravioli, or our New York Shell Steak for dinner. Our desserts are the perfect finish to any meal, whether you choose our Homemade Cheesecake or California Carrot Cake.Our full bar is always a great atmosphere to enjoy a drink and get to meet other people. Try a themed cocktail off of our menu, like Hair of the Dog or Paw Punch. We also offer Trivia ever Monday at 8:30 p.m.
Canandaigua
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Try the chicken parm”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stopped in for a nice NYC style dinner and glad we found this place. The decor inside is fun, dog themed for the most part, read the back story on the restaurant owners and their dedication to the seeing eye dog group they are passionate about. The take out menu offers the story. I had a chicken ceasar salad, very large, crisp romaine, fresh grilled chicken and not too heavily dressed with fresh grated cheese and ground pepper. My boyfriend had the chicken parm, which I still regret not ordering. The mozzerella on top of the breaded chicken was so good. The pasta was perfect and the house sauce was complimentary to the dish. Can't wait to visit again, I will have that chicken parm!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank experiencedserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    112
    30
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“great new york steak”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Ate here last week when we were visiting the big apple. We were drawn here by the crowds and outdoor seating. I ordered a very tasty mojito and deliciously seasoned new york steak. Yum! Peaked into the inside and it looked like a great cozy place to come to when the weather turns cold. Would recommend!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank palinka101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topcliffe, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sweet place”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

What a great find! The interior was so quirky and the staff friendly, with a wide range of choices to pick on the menu there was something for everybody. A very busy place which did ruin are evening slightly as our drinks were forgotten, however due to this the waitress very kindly offered a free drink for all. If in the area do pop in as the atmosphere is warm and the dog pictures covering literally all the walls are very cute! 4 stars.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“keep coming back time after time”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

i saw this place in a taxi and it looked busy so i made a mental note to check it out.. A great all year round place.We like to sit outside so we can bring our dog along. Inside is like stepping into someones house, dark and romantically lit. The menu is overwhelming and always had a good meal here. Mac and cheese is very good here. I love the fact every inch of the wall inside are covered with photographs of peoples dogs!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Dog Themed Bar”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We always come here on our trips to New York. A quirky dog themed bar with photos of dogs covering every inch of wall space. A good atmosphere although the food is very average, and there are much better places for the same money nearby. I had an okay mac n' cheese and my boyfriend had a very disappointing steak. Friendly staff and a good selection of beers too, best to go for a drink and go elsewhere for dinner.
What happended to the cat photos in the toilets though?!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred's also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Fred's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing