We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter Sunday luck”

The Waverly Inn and Garden
Reserve with OpenTable
The Waverly Inn and Garden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,754 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Waverly Pl
Transit: A, C, E, L to 14th Street and 8th Avenue. 1, 2, 3 to 14th Street and 7th Avenue.
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Easter Sunday luck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Thanks to our concierge we managed to get a reservation at this cute place for Easter brunch. It was cute. Short brunch menu, we had burgers and eggs. Burgers were a very nice medium rare, salad was exceptionally good for a green salad due to the dressing which seemed to have a hint of tarragon. Descent bloody mary and tons of sparkling water and we were off into the daylight.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JPID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    77
    33
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect meal and magical atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

My two best friends and I booked a table here for our long weekend in New York. The atmosphere was magical and romantic, but also perfect for a lovely girls night out.

The service was impeccable. The waiter sat down with us and went through his favorite dishes and recommendations. We decided on a dish that was not even on the menu. After 10 minutes the waiter came back and told us that we might have to wait a bit for the food we had ordered, but that he would give us their the macaroni and cheese with truffle, on the house.

We needed not wait for either of them. We got both the macaroni and cheese and the duck we had ordered at the same time and both tasted fantastic. The wine we were recommended was perfect for the food.

It was a bit much food for us. The waiter thought it was sad to throw the delicious macaroni and cheese so he wrapped it in a box and gave it to us when we were leaving.

Magical night and fantastic service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krusedull_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I almost don't want to tell you how good this place was in case it gets swamped - the food was simply the best I have tasted for a very long time, just glorious, unusual, interesting flavours that made my Amish chicken with honey glazed sauce something special ($32); the restaurant is intimate, secluded and uber-cool; just the most memorable eating experience. I will definitely be going back next time I'm in NY. Not the cheapest restaurant on earth but one of the most interesting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
301 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Diner at the Waverly Inn is a delightful experience. The tiny bar in the entrance is very cosy with the open fire place and it provides great cocktails. The barman is very friendly and professional! Our table in the main dining room was perfect and we adored the beautiful wall paintings by Edward Sorel. The service was very charming and helpful and the food/wine excellent! It was the most romantic evening we ever had in New York and we would return to this place anytime!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RROesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Magical, romantic back room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a very nice experience at The Waverly Inn and Garden on the evening of Friday, January 18th. Our group of 5 was there to celebrate the birthday of our dear friend. The maitre d' could have been a jerk had he chosen to be, because 2 of our friends were over 35 minutes late, but instead he kindly held our table for us (in the utterly charming, cozy back garden room) while we had delicious, well crafted cocktails at the bar. When we were seated our waiter was gracious, funny, knowledgable and accomodating without being obstrusive. My beet and goat cheese salad was absolutely wonderful (crispy little spheres of goat cheese, delicately fried, with frisee and tiny, roasted golden and red beets), as was the special appetizer of the day, the brandade with crispy toasts - so, so good. The burger was awesome, with some kind of extra savory delicous aioli. The pot pie was warm and rich and satisfylingly old-fashioned. I will say that the duck breat was slighty tougher than I would have liked, but the flavor was great. All in all it was a truly lovely restuarant experience. My tip is to make SURE to ask for a table in the back room, because if you sit anywhere else, you'll be annoyed with yourself for not asking to sit in the back once you see it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bogle821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waverly Inn and Garden also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Waverly Inn and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing