We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainy day must visit”
Review of The Mercer Kitchen

The Mercer Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mercer Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #575 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: SoHo
Cross street: Mercer
Transit: B,D,F,M to Broadway/Lafayette; 6 to Spring St; or N,R, to Prince Street.
Description: Located at the Mercer Hotel, Mercer Kitchen brings a chic, sophisticated vibe to the heart of SoHo. When Mercer Kitchen opened in 1998, it immediately became a destination for New Yorkers, celebrities, and tourists. Situated in the basement of a historic building constructed in the 1800s, the restaurant was designed by Christian Liaigre as a combination of industrial and classic modernism. Chef Jean-Georges' American menu features market-driven, seasonal ingredients prepared in a simple yet elegant style, with favorites like the Tuna Spring Roll, Steamed Shrimp Salad, wood-fired pizzas, and classic Warm Valrhona Chocolate Cake. There is an open kitchen, where guests can sit back and watch the show.The perfect restaurant for group dining, special events and celebrations.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rainy day must visit”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The ambiance is great and the food very good and honest. There is a particular element that makes a visit on a rainy day quite sympathique. The service was great.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    451
    184
    66
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad service and bad food”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We sat at a table where you couldn't see what you were eating, well so good perhaps.
The first waiter was nice bit at the end they took our food away before we had finished, the food wasn't very good and we had to wait so long for our desert card that we decided to go.
A big deception as it used to be a great place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcitroen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Sophistication..”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were just walking around the neighborhood and the place caught our attention with its beautiful street level bar. We checked the menu and we decided to give it a try. We were guided to a downstairs dinning room, very elegant and sophisticated. Service was very good, fast and attentive. We shared a shrimp cocktail, excellent, fresh and tasty! I had the mercer Burger and my wife had a pizza, with tuna and wasabe. Both were very good, although I have to admit that I was disappointed with the size of my burger, which was kind of small. Overall, a nice experience in a classy setting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RicardoCub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“very good dinner”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

we had a very good dinner that started with a drink on the upper floor.
there is a very good vibe and some great signature cocktails.
service was ok and food was good.
try the sirloin with shitake mushroom.
lovely concept

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodConcepts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lunch at mercer kitchen”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We gad a delicous family lunch at mercer kitchen soho
Food was good and prices were affordable
But before that ambiance was excellent

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mehmet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mercer Kitchen also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Mercer Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing