We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, be sure to have some pie!”
Review of Bubby's

Bubby's
Ranked #424 of 16,721 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Manhattan (Downtown)
Description: Bubby's serves homemade American food. Celebrating 25 years, we've been cooking like Americans since 1990.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We wandered in just before 12 on a Friday and it was pretty full with lots of locals which is always a good sign.

My wife had Cobb Salad and I had Fried Chicken, both were delicious. But the pie, OMG the pie was amazing, we had to share as the lunch portions were so generous. We had the Key Lime and it was literally the best we’ve ever had, really soft and rich.

Great service and well located at the south entrance of the High Line.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shoreboy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Busy - had to queue outside for 30 mins. Very crowded and loud inside - it encapsulated my idea of New York dining but not to everyone's taste - my husband thought it was just too noisy and the tables were too close together. Great food. Serves a Brunch style menu all day. The pancakes and huevos rancheros were excellent. Convenient for the High Line.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Piein F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Right at the south end of the high line - we had to sit at the bar as it was very busy but that meant getting a seat straight away and we enjoyed sitting at the bar. Its definitely not cheap, but the food we had was delicious. I really struggled to choose as there were so many tasty looking choices. Probably a bit of a tourist trap due to its location, not where isn't in NY, and it was some of the best food we had in NY

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank ErinJenks1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019 via mobile

We did not have a reservation for lunch but were seated promptly.
The service was sparse as it was busy.
My ice tea had so much ice in it that it tasted like water. They replaced it but it took about 20 minutes.
We both had fried chicken and both agreed that it was over fried and dry.
I think if it was not a busy day it would've been a better place to visit. Be prepared to scream at the top of your lungs if you want your guest to hear anything you're saying.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank PeterBruceG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2019

Nothing exceptionnal but very convenient before or after a visit to the Withney museum next door;
Nice waiter

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubby's also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bubby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing