We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed experience”
Review of August

August
Reserve with OpenTable
August is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,427 of 13,633 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Description: Located at 791 Lexington Avenue (between 61st and 62nd Streets), August is a charming respite amid the hustle of Midtown Manhattan. Fans of the longtime Bleecker Street location, which closed earlier this year, can continue to enjoy Chef Josh Eden's eclectic takes on classic comfort food. Mussels steamed with lemon beer broth and kale, Roasted Squash Ravioli, and Braised Short Ribs with Honey Sriracha Brussels Sprouts are a few of the iconic August dishes served at the uptown location, along with inventive new entrees like Cauliflower Risotto made with white chocolate. The wood and velvet chairs at the bar give guests a perfect vantage point of the cool and sophisticated decor while enjoying an expertly executed cocktails from a rotating list.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A mixed experience”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We booked August prior to our visit th New York. It looked intimate and was resonably priced. However we went on Valentines night and found it was too intimate and quite expensive. The tables were very close together and the chap on the next table was practically on my knee. There was no price on the menu and got a shock when it was $100 per person for nice but not outstanding food. The staff were really nice and the service was good but not worth the price. Maybe it would be different if visited on another occasion and avoided during peak times.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    74
    25
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Adorably quaint place to eat!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I always choose restaurants based on the "quaintness" of their appearance, but this one's food is just as amazing as well! I had the roasted organic chicken with mashed potatoes, chilled green beans, and fried garlic. It was supurb! My husband had the grilled pork chop with swiss chard, smoked beans, and sarsaparilla. He loved his as well. Be sure to call ahead and make reservations. The restaurant is pretty hopping, so an early dinner eliminates the crowd. You feel as though you're in a greenhouse in this quaint lil' restaurant! Such a romantic date night for our 1st anniversary.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brina1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely spot on Bleeker”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had to wait a while for a table, but had a nice drink at the bar before sitting down. Good wine list and excellent food. Nice atmosphere, we sat at the front, but the atmosphere out the back looked lovely.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicthenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stumbled on this place while looking for the Magnolia bakery and what a discovery. This place has got everything right from the portion size, to the food quality and the service.

Firstly it has a limited menu so there are only about 15 items on the menu, for me this is a great idea as it gives the kitchen focus on delivering quality rather than quantity of food. The initial service was good and we had a couple of hot toddies, a bottle of chablis and a coke. We then enjoyed a couple of baked skate, a chicken dish with green beans and a macaroni cheese. All four dishes were excellent however the skate and cockles was stand out, although the green beans with garlic were good and the restaurant realising that macc cheese can get a bit sickly in huge portions reduced the size perfectly.

The only minor criticism was the length of time it took for the main courses to come out. This is a minor niggle and it does make you think that all the food is cooked fresh, however the wait for 30 mins. That said I am not taking any marks off as we could not fault the food and the waiter came over to top up our wine without being over bearing.

In terms of decor and atmosphere we sat out the back in the garden which is covered with a glass roof. It really felt great with good music at the right level to enhance a meal rather than dominate.

Overall this is a great place to go and definitely worth a visit while you are in New York.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildsnoopster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I recently took some business associates to August for dinner. The food and service were outstanding. Would highly recommend.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank msher5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed August also viewed

 

Been to August? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing