We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a very good meal here”
Review of Steak Frites - CLOSED

Steak Frites
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Union Square West & 5th Ave
Transit: 1 block from Union Square Station of 4,5,6, N,R,W and L trains.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Always a very good meal here”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Was in a rush for lunch, but it was 2pm. Had the tuna tartar appitizer, adorably wrapped in a thin slice of cucumber with decorative garnish, served with a little friese salad and fabulous made-there potato chips. Wonderful service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LCB108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    30
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A great steak was started with an order of escargot and accompanied by creamed spinach but my Siberian server, Irina, made it very special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frankspurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful Brunch!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were originally going to Union Square Cafe and they were crowded. Fortunate for us!! Looking down the street we saw a sign for Sunday brunch all you can drink mimosas so we walked down and found a gem! By all means check this place out!!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JEFFandMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fast and good quality”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

good meat, french fries like in France,
try the profiteroles
service is pleasant, in the summer, you have a terrace

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanluc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Baptistmal celebration of my grandchild”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Lousy service. We are 20 guest and about three group tables. Our waiter is very efficient and good but the man server was rude and nasty. My relative who was first and order the food ahead of us was serve last and about 25 minutes late. I called the male server to check and he won't butter to help since he was busy with the other table. We are all eating and almost finished but no food for the other table. We have a pre order menu. I am so disappointed since I love the restaurant and have a good service. The is my second lousy mothers day celebration at Steakfrites w/ lousy service. I think the place cannot handle a big crowd. The same with Artisinal Fromage. I was happy w/ two person the next day I brought my family and service was so lowsy.I never go back there. Les Halles provides a good service with big crowd.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jojonyc464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak Frites also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing