We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Dinner”
Review of Il Buco

Il Buco
Ranked #1,112 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bowery and Lafayette
Transit: Take the F V B or D Trains to the Broadway & Lafayette stop, or 6 Train to Bleecker.
Description: Mediterranean fine dining at Il Buco in New York is a true gourmet experience. A fusion of Italian and Spanish flavors blends to create seasonal delicacies and handmade artisanal pastas. With an award-winning wine list, critically acclaimed Il Buco serves up sublime tapas-style dishes and entrees in a homely dining room with country-style charm.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Il Buco was the best restaurant we ate at on my week-end trip to NY. The pasta was delicious and the appetizers very tasty. Service was good and we liked the atmosphere. It was crowded and a little noisy but we will go back because the overall experience was positive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    133
    51
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always a solid go-to”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Il Buco continues to be a favorite spot in NYC. The food (kale salad) is spot on, as is the ambiance. It's old school Italian with a modern flair - and it's always fun to see if you'll spot a celeb. Their wine list is also pretty fantastic!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I really liked atmosphere in Il Buco. It reminded me of a restaurant in Paris - tables packed in so tightly the waiter pulls it out for you, and a fairly high noise level. The service was somewhat slow and inattentive, but the food was good. I didn't think the prices were outrageous - the entrees were in the $20-35 range.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FeistyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A bad day for a good restaurant?”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Il Buco has a nice atmosphere and generally good food. I have eaten here before and enjoyed it very much. But today the experience was less pleasant. The manager was inattentive. The service was poor. The server who initially tried to take my wine order seemed to have no idea what a white burgundy like Chassagne Montrachet is. The food was somewhat uneven. (The chicken was flavorful; the sea bass was not as good.) But then there was something that makes no sense for a restaurant with the pretensions of Il Buco. We were a party of 11 and the food was served family style, including dishes of ice cream! For some reason, the restaurant did not provide enough serving plates so everyone at the table could have easy access to the food. I did not get bread and I did not get the communal ice cream. When I brought the issue to the attention of the waiter, his response was condescending. For a bill of $957 that included a service charge that it is difficult to justify, I expected better service and food that was easily accessible--not two or three tables away. Perhaps Il Buco does not see itself as a restaurant for business, but I expected more for nearly $100 a person.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rcovington4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't Drink the Kool-Aid!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is rated 601 of over 7000 restaurants in the Big Apple. We went with another couple tonight. A dark, small, noisy & over crowded eatery in NYC that is overrated even at 601st.

Truffles and pasta, $100/plate, served in an absolutely overcrowded venue. Ten people waiting for tables line up inches away from diners since the house offers no space for customers to wait, food served cold, yes cold, not even warm served on ice cold plates. If you order bread be prepared to pay extra for that convenience notwithstanding the $100 plate pasta. Come on chef, truffles, even at Whole Foods only cost $15 and dried pasta is another $5. We were so put off we all left without eating. With so many wonderful eateries in the Big Apple, why waste the time with this poor excuse for first class Italian!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Buco also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Il Buco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing