We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really fun dinner!”
Review of Bar Pitti

Bar Pitti
Ranked #1,547 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Really fun dinner!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Bar Pitti's owner is a grouchy Italian dude, who serves some of the best pasta in the City. They offer a multitude of specials nightly that will knock your socks off & their wine list is quite reasonably priced. Great place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    172
    65
    29
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Italian experience”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I love Bar Pitti, good atmosphere and great food. The staff can be challenging but if you manage the staff and direct them you will be OK. I know we go to restaurants and dont want to work, but you need to here. It is all woth it, the food, pricing and atmosphere is ITALY and I love it. All the pastas are great, good down to earth Italian food at a great price for NYC.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeP2794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very Consistent Food & Fresh Flavor”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Bar Pitti has been a regular stop when we have visited family in NYC over the last several years. The food preparation has been very consistent and the fresh flavors they produce are excellent. We had another great meal there in early July.

If it's in-season, their light version of eggplant parm is a great starter. It's not breaded, the bitter skin is peeled away, and all you taste is the beautiful pomodoro sauce, the eggplant and a little cheese.

They put their name on the house favorite pasta--"Rigatoni Pitti"--for good reason. It's a must. Nice, slightly firm pasta with turkey sausage, peas, cream, tomatoes & parmigiano. Mouth-watering just writing about it.

Recently I had their linguine pasta loaded with fresh clams. An incredible ocean flavor accented each spool of pasta on the fork. Warning: don't add freshly grated cheese to it or you get yelled at by the waiter!

One in our group ordered a special that night, sea bass. It was outstanding--simply prepared and cooked as whole--they offered to filet it once presented at the table. Tender, not over-cooked, packed with flavor...a great choice if on the menu. The wine choices provide a good variety and there is something there for everyone at reasonable prices.

The thing I like is that their daily specials change regularly and you feel good about going with something that was just purchased that morning. The staples on the regular menu remain because people want to see them over and over again.

I've read some reviews that are critical of the alleged arrogance or stressed out wait staff but I really think it's kind of part of the act. If you are looking for romantic ambiance, this may not be the place. If you want to enjoy a kind of a fun, local, hipster vibe with servers who have a heavy Italian accent when explaining menu choices and chit-chatting as they visit your table, you'll like Bar Pitti.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SignorPicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“kni”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Poor service. Good homecooked food but not fanstastic. A. It arrogant and stressed staff. We did not feel welcome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not a true italian pesto”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

So difficult to explain to a true italian waiter that pesto sauce is not supposed to be made in the way the restaurant offered me. Pesto in italian means "pestare" - the ingredients in a traditionally made pesto are ground with a circular motion of the pestle in the mortar. Bar Pitti pesto SUCKS! Instead seems it's made in a blender. Its like a green puree with no taste at all... Sorry but this is too bad for such a well rated restaurant...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Pitti also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bar Pitti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing