We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spicy Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spice Market - CLOSED

Spice Market
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: 9th Avenue
Transit: A,C,E,L train to 8th Avenue
Description: Highlighted in the national and local press, Spice Market, on the corner of 9th Avenue, is inspired by the street food that Jean-Georges Vongerichten enjoyed while traveling in Asia. Authentically uplifted versions of flavourful street foods are served family-style, with dishes arriving continuously throughout the meal for all to share. Spice Market also offers corporate and social dining for large groups in the restaurant, lounge, and intimate, semi-private alcove rooms.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spicy Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I love the place itself, and the food is awesome (even though is very spicy, be prepared for this). I'd recently had the curry chicken with banana rice, a classic.
Reasonable prices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

2,834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,337
    978
    323
    126
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We'd heard about the Spice Market from a colleague of mine (we travelled to NY from the UK) and so we booked for a friday night.

We arrived, and quickly seated in a busy (but not crowded) restaurant. The ambience was nice, tables lit with candles and dim lighting.

After a drink we ordered food - shaved tuna & satay chicken for starters, short rib & seafood laksa for mains.

Really nice food. The waiting staff could talk to you about the food & were knowledgeable about the menu. They kept our drinks topped up and were quick with orders.

All in all, a really nice eating experience in the Meatpacking District. Worth a visit when in NYC.

For a rooftop bar after, head diagonally over the road to the Gansfoort hotel. A pretty good view down to the financial area of NYC.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Asian flavour sensation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Absolutely loved dining at Spice Market on a sunny evening in NY with the restaurants windows wide open, taking in all of the atmosphere both inside and out - such a buzzy part of the city!

Usually don't like the approach of "dishes arrive in the order they are ready" but in this case it actually made for a wonderfully memorable meal so would highly recommend it to anyone who likes southeast asian food.

Everyone at the table got to taste a bit of everything ordered including the sensational spicy wings as a starter which were soooo tasty! Mains were excellent too - everything from the fragrant vietnamese chicken curry, the grilled strip steak to the short ribs. The highlight however was definitely the halibut dish which was so full of delicious vietnamese flavours.

Anyone thinking of going should definitely book in advance as it was completely packed out (especially at the weekend) but definitely not one to be missed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DublinSar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good dining in a beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I had dinner in Spice Market with my husband on a Sunday night, luckily we found a place booking only 1 hour before. We love Far East food, and in this place is very well done.
The service was great too, and fast.
But the thing I liked most is the ambiance... really beautiful. It's definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jinetta71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
152 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Super trendy restaurant with excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We had a late lunch on our last day in NYC. We lived across the road but the exterior did not tempt us, luckily we walked in and the friendly staff was able to seat us. Such a cool restaurant with attention to all details, even the uniforms on the staff was wearing was perfect. The food was just awesome! Loved every minute of our visit. I have to mention the service of the staff, outstanding in every way!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lindafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Market also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing