We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely an experience!”
Review of Spice Market - CLOSED

Spice Market
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: 9th Avenue
Transit: A,C,E,L train to 8th Avenue
Description: Highlighted in the national and local press, Spice Market, on the corner of 9th Avenue, is inspired by the street food that Jean-Georges Vongerichten enjoyed while traveling in Asia. Authentically uplifted versions of flavourful street foods are served family-style, with dishes arriving continuously throughout the meal for all to share. Spice Market also offers corporate and social dining for large groups in the restaurant, lounge, and intimate, semi-private alcove rooms.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Definitely an experience!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I decided to try this place again. We went there about 4 years ago and we had a great experience but time I was a bit disappointed this time. We had the crab dumplings and crispy sushi as appetizers and the steamed red snapper and lobster as main course. The sauce and spices didn't go well at all with the crab dumplings. The flavors were too overwhelming and the crab dumplings were too dry. The crispy sushi was OK - not sure if chipotle sauce is a great choice on this one. The steamed red snapper was good but it was difficult to enjoy the taste after those overwhelming crab dumplings. My husband really liked his lobster - no complaints there. The service however is great. Our waiter was very nice and gave us a complimentary dessert because we had trouble deciding. We had the lychee parfait - it was excellent and our complimentary dessert was the mango rice pudding. I am not a great fan of this one - the rice was burnt I could barely taste the mango flavor. Overall, it was an good experience. I like this place so I will definitely give it another try next time we're in New York!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

2,835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,338
    978
    323
    126
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
179 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Our poor choice”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our daughter had been here previously and had the tasting menu so we didn’t really look at the a la carte.
We should have.
Our daughter is vegetarian and that’s fine, although the vegetarian tasting menu is the same price as the “meat” menu even though supermarket shopping would indicate that meat is more expensive than tofu.
My wife and I don’t eat pork and my wife is not fond of fish.
Despite being assured that none of this was a problem, the kitchen/waitress struggled to get three variations of a tasting menu out correctly and missed one course completely, missed another course for both “meat” eaters (the pork) and failed to explain initially, when the food came that some of it was to be shared as opposed to being for the person it was put in front of.
Really poor.
The restaurant is beautifully set up and I’m sure if we had ordered a la carte our experience would have been great, like previous reviewers.
A word of warning.
If you don’t want the tasting menu exactly as written, don’t order it.
(And we wouldn’t have if the waitress had at all indicated that changing it would be a problem).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeHappyM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good for who like Asian food”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Good service beautiful restaurant, reservations are required places beautiful and satisfying dishes not particularly expensive
Recommended for those who like Asian food

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank efi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great food, even better cocktails”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I loved this Meatpacking bar restaurant, where is NOT all about the food (although it is good and pretty original). My top marks go for the atmosphere and the really unique cocktails

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jolotravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very unique experience”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Went here with work trip and quite the experience! The inside is amazing and unique. The food is delicious as well. It's a cool place to eat and admire the atmosphere

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Runnerchik3233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Market also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing