We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great food”

Meskerem Ethiopian Cuisine
Ranked #2,898 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
West New York, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Always great food”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I have been frequenting this location for over a decade now with friends, colleagues and solo. The food is always good. The servers are customer oriented and very professional. This is a very casual joint. In order to have a work related lunch or dinner, do make sure your colleagues are aware of the ambience. It's very casual and simple. The focus is on food and service. In the summer, sitting outside can be nice. Inside can be stuffy at times.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZJ-161718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    27
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best choices for vegetarians as well as meat eaters in NYC”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We went to this little restaurant after we saw it walking past.
As a vegetarian it can sometimes be a challenge finding good, nutritious food when you're eating out but this place was the best food I'd eaten in the US. I highly recommend the vegetarian combo (especially if you are actually vegetarian), but it's also a good plate to share with others. My husband has the lamb and loved his, as well as some of mine!
The food comes out pretty quickly and it gets served on a crepe like bread which you dip and eat your food with, no cutlery required. It was a fun, relaxed meal out and reasonably priced.
The atmosphere was nice and relaxed, there weren't too many people in the restaurant, which we liked! And the girls serving were great and not too 'in your face' as I have found a lot of other restaurants servers to be.
I wish there was one of these restaurants near my place because I would be there A LOT!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I had never tried Ethiopian food before visiting here, and it was a great first try. The staff accommodated us even though we arrived quite late and the atmosphere was relaxed. Good value.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seamusb186518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Quiet, wonderful atmosphere, kindly, lovely waitresses”
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Went here on New Year's Eve. Quiet bass thumping in the background. Delicious food. Really able to relax and enjoy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nauta53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Love the food, but the flavors change pretty regularly. And the service is horrible.”
Reviewed March 6, 2008

Love the food, but the flavors change pretty regularly. And the service is horrible.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meskerem Ethiopian Cuisine also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Meskerem Ethiopian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing