We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A New Favorite!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Mulino

Il Mulino
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Mulino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #700 of 13,554 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: West 3rd, between Sullivan & Thompson
Transit: Take the A, B, C, D, E, F or V train to West 4th Street.
Louisiana, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A New Favorite!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here over New Year's and absolutely loved the restaurant. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the food was delicious! The sommelier offered several wine choices that were actually below our price point. We greatly appreciated that and the wine was delicious! We will definitely be going back on the next trip and I have recommended it to my friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 151515151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    96
    44
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
230 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Snobish staff, perfect food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

They tried to cancell my reservation done on OPENTABLE without any reasons... But I am persistant!
The food is excelent but a bit overpriced! But the staff behaves like they rule the all italian cuisine on Manhattan! Too many emploees for no reasons, to strange way in suggesting the menu (the waiter does not give you the cart till he tells the whole menu by heart, they also try to squeeze you for extra drinks at the entrance, etc.
But if you come through it - you will get excelent food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poleff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We tried the uptown restaurant. Fantastic meat at this great Italian restaurant. Careful if you order a "special" you should check the price! Fantastic food. They bring some tastes to start on the house!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjk852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Upscale, old world, authentic Italian cuisine. The food was fantastic, and the service was as good as it gets. It was expensive, but well worth it. A fabulous experience with friends and colleagues.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jhhoffmann2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, fl
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Il Mulino uptown is a nice addition to the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

At the recommendations of a friend, I tried Il Mulino while in NYC for a girls trip. We decided to go to their new location uptown and were very impressed by all aspects of the restaurant. We had a reservation and our table was ready for us at our reserved time. The restaurant decor is beautiful, more modern and up to date. It is dimly lit as others have mentioned but I personally think more light would ruin the ambiance of the restaurant. The service never faultered one time, our wine and water stayed full and everyone in the restaurant kept things moving. I had been warned about the free parm, bruschetta etc that they give and not to fill up on it, so I tried everything but wanted to save room for dinner. I had the spinach salad which was wonderful and then for dinner I had the Mushroom Ravioli with white truffle cream sauce and my friend had a chicken dish. The ravioli was almost heavenly and I enjoyed every bite. The chicken dish my friend had was quite a large portion and really could have fed two people. We finished our dinner with the ricotta cheesecake, I wasn't a fan but I never have like ricotta cheesecake so it wasn't a suprise (my friend did enjoy it though).
It was an expensive meal, but by far the best service and food we had in NYC.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flrelax10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Mulino also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Il Mulino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing