We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic, enticing, exceptional”
Review of Alta

Alta
Reserve with OpenTable
Alta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,161 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
150 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Eclectic, enticing, exceptional”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

An eclectic variety of tapas complimented with many great, affordable choices of vino. Friendly servers and a cozy atmosphere make this gem a must try when in NYC.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sundaisy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    122
    27
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“romantic, cozy Spanish/Italian influenced restaurant”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Incredibly romantic setting. it is a beautiful Spanish style setting with tall ceilings, yet an intimate feeling. The candle lighting is perfect and sets the mood. The tapas were mediocre and a little on the more expensive side. We ordered three tapas with one glass of wine and the bill was 65 dollars without tip. We ordered the pull pork empanadas, bruschetta spinach and mascarpone, and battered corn. The battered corn was not what we were expecting and certainly our least favorite. The bruschetta was very good. The empanadas were average, but came with a really good avocado sauce. Since they have a really unique menu, I would highly recommend it for a dinner date or night out with friends. I would love to try some of the other things on the menu. There really seems some enticing items. I will go back and try some more.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JSylvia707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Interestingly hip, delectable, posh tapas with amazing sangria!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The host truly made this trip to the restaurant memorable for my husband and our clients! Amazing service with attention to detail. Really made u's feel special and must try smoked mozzarella!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nwilson1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
“Best Tapas in New York”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Love this place! This is always my go to destination with friends. Hidden in the village, this place is always lively and the food never ceases to amaze me. I've been several times, most recently with a group of 10 for a friend's birthday party and we ordered "The Whole Shabang" which gives you one of everything on the menu for $450. This was a truly amazing experience. I don't think I've ever eaten so much in my life. It's a truly special experience to bond with close friends over good food and wine and reminded me of nights I used to spend at tapas bars when I was living in Seville, Spain. The only aspect of this place that isn't brag-worthy is the service. Not that it's bad, it's just not great. The servers are nice, but always frantically running around table to table...then again, the place is always packed so it's hard not for them to be. The atmosphere is great and always full of beautiful people. It's lively, but not too loud and stylish, while maintaining a very laid-back, cozy vibe. Definitely make reservations if you're a larger group and last but not least, if you try only one thing...MAKE SURE YOU TRY THE BRUSSEL SPROUTS!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lexi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We go to Alta pretty often, for the enjoyable atmosphere, people watching and original tapas. Last time we went, we wanted to try something new, so it took us a little more time to order. The waiter, though knowledgeable, became impatient and rolled his eyes when we couldn’t decide what to choose and asked him for more details about different tapas. The place was not crowded at all (it was on a Sunday night), so we did not understand his rush.
We ordered : "Taglierini" of calamari, crabmeat stuffed pepper, Seared Sea Scallops, Risotto in the style of Amatriciana and Fritto Misto. The Frito Misto came out right away, just warm and a little mushy instead of being hot and crispy , so we guessed it was already cooked. Risotto was too salty, scallops and stuffed pepper were good, calamari were interesting, but had too much garlic for our taste. Portions were tiny, after 5 tapas we left still hungry. On the pricey side too.
Still 4 stars for ambience and originality.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing