We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood hangout”
Review of Japonica

Japonica
Ranked #2,962 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: 12th Street and University Place
Transit: L, N, Q, R, W, 4, 5 & 6 trains to Union Square - 14th Street and F & V trains to 6th Avenue. Buses: M3, M5, M7, M2, 14th Street East and West buses.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Neighborhood hangout”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We went here for dinner based on good reviews from Trip Advisor. We arrived early--about 6:30pm, expecting to wait, but we were seated immediately. We ordered sashimi, and a couple of special rolls. The food was very good, and service was prompt and friendly. The prices were very reasonable for NY. I was actually surprised. We each had a glass of wine, sake, and I think my husband had another wine after that, plus the food, and the bill was about $120. The fish tasted very fresh, and I really liked that the rolls we ordered specifically said there was no mayo inside. The restaurant had a neighborhood hangout vibe. Granted, we were there early, but there were quite a few families in attendance. We were looking for something a little more upscale, but we didn't have any complaints, either. Recommended and a good bargain.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ambrazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    52
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Good food, rude service”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The food here has usually been good but the service, particularly when calling for takeout has been rude - enough so that you have to consider not calling again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Terrific Japanese food”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our first night in NY was spent wandering around the Village and finishing with a great meal at Japonica. The menu is extensive, food fresh and delicious. The bento box is excellent value. Japonica is well priced for NY.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fitzroytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavira, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“One of my favorite NYC restaurants”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

They have incredibly good Sukiyaki, which is one of my favorite Japanese dishes. A broth/meat stew with fresh vegetables. Very tasty. The place is always very crowded since in the NYU area. Go early, or reserve and plan to wait a bit anyway...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ParisGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good Japanese”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Each time i come to New York i try to come and eat at Japonica.

Very good, fresh food, impeccable and friendly service.

Only negative is prices, which have been following the growing popularity of the restaurant. But still reasonble given th quality of food and service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Filippo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japonica also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Japonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing