We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful French food.”
Review of Balthazar

Balthazar
Ranked #449 of 13,588 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: SoHo
Reviewed August 20, 2019 via mobile

Be sure to make a reset if you want a table without a long wait. Service is excellent and the food is great. The steak and fries were delicious and the duck is excellent. The food is homemade and the baked goods are fresh. The desserts are hard they resist so go ahead a order one or two.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank AR2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (6,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 163 of 6,376 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2019

My wife and I were steered to visit Balthazar for breakfast. Part of the recommendation was to allow my wife to do a bit of shopping in Soho. They serve a very nice breakfast, serving an assortment of French pastries, as well as other more traditional offerings. It was all very good, nothing spectacular, but filled the bill for getting us into lower Manhattan.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 58hankg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019 via mobile

Just arrived in nyc for our 8th visit - from New Zealand. Overnight flight so a bit fuzzy so a lunch booked ahead at Balthazar with the in local crowd is the way to arrive in nyc. Fantastic food - hurrays salad and tart pretemps were great. Amazing space place and old fashioned vibe, many staff working like a well oiled machine. Huge mirrors and lots going on.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Brownkiwi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019 via mobile

First impressions were excellent and the service and menu choices were plentiful. Our waiter took the time to explain the menu and wine options. The food was excellent and plentiful . If you like French food this is a must in New York ...

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank ackermann17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019 via mobile

We went to eat lunch at Balthazar. We were quickly seated even if the restaurant was packed. The atmosphere was wonderful; French inspired, buzzing and busy. Felt like we were in Paris. The food came quickly and it tasted great. A big selection of good wines. The service was impeccable. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank kensvend
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balthazar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.