We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it”
Review of Balthazar

Balthazar
Ranked #449 of 13,588 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: SoHo
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

This is a great place for breakfast. Call ahead for reservations. Spoil yourself with a mimosa and a pastry. The coffee is excellent and bottomless. I recently had the french toast and was very pleased.

Date of visit: April 2019
2  Thank Latonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (6,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 250 of 6,376 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

We recommend to book because the place is very popular and food very nice
We recommend you Oster for starter then the steak au poivre. Succulent
And décor and atmosphere so cool

Date of visit: April 2019
2  Thank MarcoutPierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019 via mobile

We had a late dinner in NYC on a Saturday night to celebrate my mother’s 76th birthday. We found out a good friend had moved to NYC from our small town in Texas, New Braunfels. So, we added one to our reservation that same day. They graciously allowed the addition, but had to move us to the “cafe” area. A blessing because we had Maria as our server and she was fabulous! Everything we ordered was wonderful...some cheese appetizer, duck, trout, steak, and wine...They brought out a birthday dessert and we sang Happy Birthday. A memorable evening with family, a great friend, lots of laughing and fabulous food. The atmosphere here is also unique....huge old bar, big and open with high ceilings...really cool.

Date of visit: April 2019
2  Thank Castee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

This was an amazing brunch option for us. The restaurant is beautiful and the service is outstanding! I definitely recommend that you order the assorted pastry basket for the table. Everything in it is wonderful. I also recommend the eggs in the pastry bowl with asparagus and mushrooms. My daughter had the pancakes and said they were amazing as well. The service is outstanding and they are very attentive to anything you need. We will definitely be visiting again the next time we are in NYC!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MPRH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019 via mobile

We have walked in without a reservation but managed to get a table. We have tried steak frites with butter sauce and beef straganoff, both cooked to perfection. Make sure to leave room for ice cream filled profiteroles! Although pricey, it was worth every penny (not their coffee though).

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank HMD1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balthazar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.