We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never gets old”
Review of Balthazar

Balthazar
Reserve with OpenTable
Balthazar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #197 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: French, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: SoHo
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never gets old”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Balthazar is a New York classic for a good reason. Tourists love it but that doesn't make it any less popular with locals. Great for breakfast during the week. For dinner, the chicken for two is the best thing on the menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,086 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,602
    1,714
    539
    140
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Average is the world”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Having visited Balthazar-in London which I enjoyed, went to New York restaurant Soho ,
Very busy , too busy very cramped , food very average, service above average, nice waitress, cooking need reviewing by management.
I don't think the painted decor adds to the enjoyment .
Smarten up

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, MI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Okay but.....”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I would like to give this 3 1/2. The service was excellent and the food was really good. But....in hindsight it was not worth the 1 1/2 hour wait. It was a must do on the list for my NY trip but the time and money it cost I don't feel it was worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jendoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love Balthazar in New York”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Every time in New York (twice a year) I have to visit Balthazar. This time to celebrate my birthday. Thankful for å restaurant where one can celebrate without everybody in the restaurant knows !
For our party: oysters, escargot, tartar and steak frites, all tasty and well prepared. And Excellent service !

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TF54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Make a reservation”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a great place to eat when in New York, but you really need to make a reservation. It is always busy. Went on Sunday, they were only serving brunch which was disappointing, want to have mussels - but had smoked salmon, fab.
Love the atmosphere there. Not to be missed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mgtmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balthazar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing