We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Icon”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Balthazar

Balthazar
Reserve with OpenTable
Balthazar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #200 of 13,554 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: French, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: SoHo
Firenze
Level Contributor
214 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Icon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Balthazar is without any doubt an institution among the ubiquitous restaurants in the city.
The decor, the flowers, the white tiles, the bakery, the oyster bar, everything has a charme here except the reservation and the people at the front desk (way so posh??? What will you be without us???).
The food is good, anything amazing but even if many, many season is a place where it is nice to have a breakfast or a lunch

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgiornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,565
    1,693
    532
    138
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Went with my 3 kids today, the best thing was the wine, a Pinot Noire from Alsace, and the dessert, mango cheescake. A close three was the french onion soup my oldest daughter had. My escargots were horrible, the lamp t-bones of my son so-so, my peppersteak tough and uninspiring, and my youngest daughters chicken a la something dry! Woul not go again. Sorry!!

Helpful?
Thank Karl J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little bit of France in NY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We are from London and have visited Balthazar in Covent Garden a couple of times so was intrigued to try the NY original.

The good news is its great. The place was at full capacity yet the service was exceptional. The food was also terrific.

Don't forget to visit the bakery and but the best baked goods too!

Helpful?
Thank S1J2B3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exhausting!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

If you like eating in a Frenzy, then this is you place. 8:30 reservations were delayed as we stood on line to get to the reservation desk. Total chaos at the reservations desk and no room to wait. For Steak Frites, this is a good place. Get a good "runner" and your meal will be served more efficiently. The wait staff tries hard but tables are jammed together and the experience is too crowded to enjoy a good meal. I am not sure why I would want to go back. Ask for a booth. Good luck.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theaesthete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, NY
Level Contributor
424 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Good, but inconsistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

If you're looking for a lively, noisy, brasserie-style place, Balthazar is probably the restaurant for you, but be aware - the quality of the food varies significantly, so choose carefully. The duck "shepherd's pie" I had was delicious - tender, full of flavor, and not too large. The burger my son chose was very poor - overcooked and completely tasteless. This was simply not good enough for a restaurant charging these prices. The "bar steak" was also dry and poorly cooked. The bread served at the table is first class - unsurprisingly given it has its own in-house bakery.

I think it's unlikely I'll return to Balthazar anytime soon. At these prices, there has to be greater consistency. I feel this place may be relying too much on its reputation, rather than on real quality.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balthazar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing