We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!”
Review of Balthazar

Balthazar
Reserve with OpenTable
Balthazar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #203 of 13,748 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: SoHo
austin tx
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great service!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I went for a late lunch, sat at the bar and had the mussels. Get them! I was sitting by myself, was super entertained by the bartenders and stayed for a couple hours. Great time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leightx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,644
    1,746
    552
    143
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“oh my gosh....get the steak!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I messed up and got the soup and foie gras mousse....hubster made the best choice....THE STEAK!!!!....I seldom rave about steak, but their steak is prepared so fabulously ... seared to a crunchy crust on the outside and warm and tender on the inside....setting is delightful...reservation required.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank debby g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle,
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Went here for dinner by myself and while there was no chance of me getting a table the bartender graciously squeezed me in after a brief wait. I tried their foie gras mousse and steak tartare. Both were satisfying and went well with their house lager but were otherwise unremarkable. I think most of the appeal is in the loud and crowded dimly lit high ceiling dining room. Glad I went but do not need to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“On top...but with blemishes”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

In a city that receives 40 millon visitors a year it is understandable that reservations are difficult, specially in iconic sites such as Balthazar. Even though we had firm reservations, we were made to wait 30 minutes and then were offered the WORST table at the house, right next to the entrance with all clients looking for sitting on top of us. We did not accept it and were given a more decent table shortly afterwards. Having said that, food continues to be top although to our deep regret they were out of the 'fish for two'; the wine list enviable and reasonably priced; and desserts generous and magnificent. Prices for food are on the high side, but the quality of the meal is even more on the high side. We will return, but on a trial basis as we refuse, with confirmed reservations, to be mistreated for a second time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cocolo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Nice french-style brunch and never miss their bakery”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I like their brunch. Overall, quite good. Worth trying from time to time. However, the quality versus price cannot be the best in NYC. The thing I wouldn't miss is their bakery. My favorites are cookies, especially oatmeal cookies, which are the best.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SSLSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balthazar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing