We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice french-style brunch and never miss their bakery”
Review of Balthazar

Balthazar
Reserve with OpenTable
Balthazar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #203 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: SoHo
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Nice french-style brunch and never miss their bakery”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I like their brunch. Overall, quite good. Worth trying from time to time. However, the quality versus price cannot be the best in NYC. The thing I wouldn't miss is their bakery. My favorites are cookies, especially oatmeal cookies, which are the best.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SSLSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,621
    1,727
    549
    141
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“True to form”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Each time we travel to New York, we plan ahead to ensure our place at this exceptional french-inspired bistro. True to form, the steak frites were impeccably prepared. The excellent service and incomparable vibe only add to Blathazar's enduring charm.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Bistro”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

On of NY's best. Great spot for dinner, lunch or a afternoon drink. The fries, food and wine are amazing as you would expect from a great bistro

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great for solo lunch at the bar”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I find it awkward to eat by myself. When traveling alone in NYC, however, Balthazar is the perfect restaurant for a nice lunch at the bar. The bartenders are attentive, the vibe is comfortable, and the people watching is fascinating. Oh, and the food? Incredible.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulunolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It has been a long time since I have eaten at Balthazar and besides having to wait a little bit for our table to be ready. which happens since the place is always busy. the food and service is right on. be warned that it is on the noisy side.


Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Golden16118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balthazar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing