We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cheesecake”
Review of Balthazar

Balthazar
Reserve with OpenTable
Balthazar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #191 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: French, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: SoHo
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely cheesecake”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Did not visit the cafe, but bough from the bakery located next door. A nice range of cakes, pastries and breads. Chose a strawberry cheesecake and a raspberry chocolate tart. Both individually wrapped in separate boxes, each with a set of cutlery (useful when taking back to hotel room!). Lovely, tasty produce. Worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SBj05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,601
    1,714
    539
    140
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A bit of Paris in SoHo”
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a nice restaurant in SoHo for lunch when we stumbled upon Balthazar. I wanted something light so I ordered French onion soup. It was delicious. Even better was the bread and the French fries off my husband's plate. A little pricey, but what isn't in the city

Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
194 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Paris Bistro Atmosphere, Average Food, Good Service”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Went here on recommendation of colleagues and was a little disappointed. Yes, it does have an inside atmosphere of a Paris bistro. I had the steak and it was average--don't really get all the fuss over the "pommes frites". They were good french fries, yes, but nothing to write home about. Our waitress was very attentive and accommodated our large group well, even as some people came in late and we had to split the bill several ways. If you are really into French cuisine and culture I guess you might be more enthused.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EconMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
173 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“France comes to SOHO”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Perhaps a tradition to NYC but for this first time visit it was classic. Incredible hustle and bustle from our 12:30 seating until we left at 2:30 it is no wonder NY'rs flock here. Wonderful food and the seafood Nicoise salad was the bomb. Just great with fresh, fresh, fresh seafood. My bride had the warm, smoked trout salad and also confirmed one of the best ever. Busy and loud but what isn't in NYC (See Gramercy review for that answer)
A must stop IF you can get in but don't even think about popping in. GET a RESERVATION in advance regardless of when you want to go. Seafood rules at Balthazar!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillyTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Tried the take-away option, great service in the store.
Impressive packaging of the cakes purchased.
Also very impressed when found plastic cutlery included in the box, great touch.
Cakes (both cheescake and chocolate tart) were delicous.
Worth a visit if in area, try the takeaway if a nice day and sit in a nearby park.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 99flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balthazar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing