We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Raoul's

Raoul's
Reserve with OpenTable
Raoul's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #568 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: SoHo
Cross street: between Sullivan and Thompson Sts.
Transit: N or R to Prince St. C or E to Spring St.
West Orange
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Great food. Great wine. Great service. Great experience. May be pricey for some. But well worth it. Lamb is the best on the menu in my opinion.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tdiama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    90
    22
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Food was terrible - too salty to eat”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I tend to get on board to write a review when something is very good or very bad. This was very bad and I felt that I should warn others that this time the reviews in Trip Advisor do not reflect an absolute reliable experience for this restaurant.

My husband and I went to this restaurant based on the reviews and the neighborhood. The atmostphere was an older crowd and eclectic. Its small, loud and you are packed in ... all of which to me meant a fun atmosphere where you might actually have an interesting conversation with a local. So then we get to the food. I had the Octopus salad which I really tried to eat but it was so salty I had to push it aside. The waiter removed it without even asking if something was wrong and gave us our entrees. My husband had the famous steak with the fries on the side. He barely could eat it because he was dodging whole peppercorns in the sauce. His fries were hard and stale. He tried to scrape off the sauce so he could atleast have some of the steak but gave up due to the peppercorns. I had the fish. I had two bites and could not continue due to the salt ( this coming from a person who LOVES salty fries and potato chips). It was inedible. I actually started feeling sick from the food. Something wasn't right. NOT a word from the waiters with a whole un eaten dish that they whisked away without even asking if I was done. To many good restaurants in NYC. better yet Go to the Dutch across the street.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mexico2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality, quality, quality!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Raoul's is one of our favorite dining spots, in "the city." Serge and Guy, know how to run a great restaurant: quality/ informative service, a proper food menu for epicureans: organic produce, top quality foie gras, perfectly cooked fish (to temperature), and... the best goat cheesecake I have had (to die for)! - perfect melding of textures and taste.

If you are stuck in the states for a holiday, are dying for some great French cuisine, and need a go to place, then head to Raoul's!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Straight out of the 80s, in a good way”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Classic french bistro. Sit at the bar for the great bar steak and a well made martini. Oysters were perfectly shucked and cold. Great 80s soundtrack rolling in the background.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loud and lively”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Raoul's is a small, candle lit, incredibly decorated bistro. The art work on the walls is a joy. it is also teeming with life and laughter and so dark that you may need your smart phone to light up the menu enough to read it - there were little flashes of light here and there throughout the evening. If you are more than two people you need a booth because you'll never hear anyone who is more than one seat away. My husband and I were fine sitting across from each other in the middle of a long group of tables but it's not a place for important conversation. The food was terrific. We shared the bavette fries, salad, dessert and coffee - excellent. All in all, it was fun. But don't go if you are looking for a quiet, peaceful evening. That's not what Raouls is about.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank montrealwesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raoul's also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Raoul's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing