We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality, quality, quality!”
Review of Raoul's

Raoul's
Reserve with OpenTable
Raoul's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #669 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: SoHo
Cross street: between Sullivan and Thompson Sts.
Transit: N or R to Prince St. C or E to Spring St.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality, quality, quality!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Raoul's is one of our favorite dining spots, in "the city." Serge and Guy, know how to run a great restaurant: quality/ informative service, a proper food menu for epicureans: organic produce, top quality foie gras, perfectly cooked fish (to temperature), and... the best goat cheesecake I have had (to die for)! - perfect melding of textures and taste.

If you are stuck in the states for a holiday, are dying for some great French cuisine, and need a go to place, then head to Raoul's!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    96
    24
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Straight out of the 80s, in a good way”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Classic french bistro. Sit at the bar for the great bar steak and a well made martini. Oysters were perfectly shucked and cold. Great 80s soundtrack rolling in the background.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loud and lively”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Raoul's is a small, candle lit, incredibly decorated bistro. The art work on the walls is a joy. it is also teeming with life and laughter and so dark that you may need your smart phone to light up the menu enough to read it - there were little flashes of light here and there throughout the evening. If you are more than two people you need a booth because you'll never hear anyone who is more than one seat away. My husband and I were fine sitting across from each other in the middle of a long group of tables but it's not a place for important conversation. The food was terrific. We shared the bavette fries, salad, dessert and coffee - excellent. All in all, it was fun. But don't go if you are looking for a quiet, peaceful evening. That's not what Raouls is about.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank montrealwesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best. The authentic. The one.”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is the best restaurant in NY to my family and I.

The frisée lardons is perfect and the steak poivre divine

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Delightful French Experience”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Raoul's was highly recommended to me by a well-heeled Manhattanite, and it did not disappoint. The food was perfection, especially the warm octopus salad -- truly one of the best things I've ever eaten. We were lucky to get a booth; the restaurant is small and wildly popular, so seating is generally tight. The bartender and server were helpful and charming, as was the manager. We feel quite fortunate to have experienced this gem.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raoul's also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Raoul's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing