We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful French Experience”
Review of Raoul's

Raoul's
Reserve with OpenTable
Raoul's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #691 of 13,765 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: SoHo
Cross street: between Sullivan and Thompson Sts.
Transit: N or R to Prince St. C or E to Spring St.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Delightful French Experience”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Raoul's was highly recommended to me by a well-heeled Manhattanite, and it did not disappoint. The food was perfection, especially the warm octopus salad -- truly one of the best things I've ever eaten. We were lucky to get a booth; the restaurant is small and wildly popular, so seating is generally tight. The bartender and server were helpful and charming, as was the manager. We feel quite fortunate to have experienced this gem.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    95
    24
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Such a Fun Restaurant!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Raoul's has delicious French food, great sexy paintings, and a fun and lively atmosphere. I can highly recommend the fish dishes, steak frites, salads. Drinks are well-made. We even had a celebrity sighting (David Schwimmer).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“get the Pepper Steak”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The pepper steak is the best in the CITY. Raoul's has been around a while and you don't make it in the CITY and in that neighborhood if things aren't right. well, Raoul's does it right.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DTL0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Stop Off, Friendly Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were a bit peckish on Saturday night around midnight so we popped into Raoul's in SoHo for a bite and a drink. The welcome was excellent and we sat at the bar chatting away with the other guests and the bartender. The bar burger was delicious and the Steak Au Poivre was excellent. You can't go wrong with places like this. It has a regular clientele, so you know it's going to be a pleasant time ahead. Small and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
“Wonderful, as ever”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have been dining at Raoul's for decades. Last night it was utterly unchanged and as good as ever. My steak au poivre, for example, was quite delicious.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FoggMurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raoul's also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Raoul's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing